Havengore, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Havengore


Guide to Havengore, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Havengore, Essex
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Havengore or Havengore Island, is an extra parochial small island and a parish, in Rochford district, Essex; at the mouth of the Thames, nearly opposite the Nore light, 6 1/2 miles ES of Rochford.[1] 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

There are no churches on the island.Havengore is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England (1870) Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013