Havant, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Havant, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Havant|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Havant with Leigh and Brockhampton; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HAVANT (St. Faith), a market-town, parish, and liberty, and the head of a union, in the Fareham and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 21¼ miles (E. by S.) from Southampton, and 64 (S. W.) from London with the tythings of Brockhampton and Leigh. There are places of worship for Independents, and a Roman Catholic chapel.. Langstone village is near Havant.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Havant, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|HAVANT PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Rogers, Peter. The Book of Hayling Island and Langstone. This book will be of interest to folk who had descendants on Hayling Island and Langstone. Has photos taken in early 1900's and a list of family surnames: Adams, Danby, Goring, Marshall, Paxton, Seddon, Towse, Barsley, Duncan, Grant McKee, Pyecrefot, Short, Turner, Chilvers, Earsley, Hudson, Millgate, Fussle, Snell, Twine, Clark, Cobb, Ely, Longcroft, Padwick, Sandeman, Stead, Wallbridge, Court Goldsmith, Lowe, Parker, Scorer, Scent, Welton, Wilson. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. 28, no.1. May 2001 pages 38-39, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h vol. 28, no.1.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 444-447. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.