Haugesund Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Haugesund, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Haugesund and Skåre. They were separated from Torvastad clerical district in 1879. Torvastad records begin in 1753. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
There was a Methodist congregation in Haugesund from 1890 to 1892.
Haugesund Branch of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 1850-1952. The Record of members includes baptisms, confirmations, blessings of children, priesthood ordinations, minutes of meetings, emigrations, deaths, excommunications, and other miscellaneous information. The Bergen Conference (District) includes these branches: Bergen in Bergen County, Stavanger and Haugesund in Rogaland County, and Ålesund in Møre og Romsdal County.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
- 1701 Census - Manntall 1701 Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
The 1801 census (b. 39) for Torvastad clerical district includes Torvastad (Torvestad) and Skåre parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
1801-telling for Torvastad Database
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for HaugesundDatabase
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information
1875-teljinga for Haugesund Database
This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Haugesund Database
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
1866-1883 probate records Haugesund City judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.
Availability[edit | edit source]
Haugesund judicial district
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
There is no farm book for Haugesund city.