Hathern, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Hathern, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Peter & St Paul Hathern Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Loughborough|
|Parish registers: 1563|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1563|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HATHERN (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (N. W.) from Loughborough.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Hathern like this:
HATHERN, a parish in Loughborough district, Leicester; adjacent to the Midland rai1way and the boundary with Notts, and near the river Soar, 3 miles NW of Longhborough. There are chapels for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hathern, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Hathern, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Hathern Bap 1563; 1573 - 1971 Mar 1563;1573 - 1776; 1802 – 1984 (banns to 1971) Bur 1570 - 1582;1594;1599 - 1936; 1950 - 1960
The following Non-Conformist registers are also deposited at the Leicester and Rutland record office:
Hathern (Shepshed) Roman Catholic Births 1862-1882
Hathern Wesleyan Methodist (circuit) Baptisms 1853-1876 reference N/M/207/182
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.