To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Haslington, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Haslington, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haslington, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HASLINGTON, is a village and a township-chapelry in Barthomley parish, Cheshire. The village stands near the Northwestern railway, it is 2½ miles NE of Crewe; and has a post office under Crewe. There are chapels for Independents, Baptists, and Primitive Mcthodists.[1]

Haslington St Matthew, Cheshire was a former chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Barthomley.

Pevsner describes this as a church of "two builds", both of which are "handsome". The west part was built in 1810. The east end was built in in 1909 and was designed by Reginald T. Longden.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Hasington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Haslington Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Haslington, Baptist Union Chapel. Founded 1884, the chapel was opened in 1887 and closed in 1971. Registers of marriages 1908–71 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Haslington, Free Gospel Mission. Built in 1870.
Winterley, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1834.
Haslington, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1909.
Haslington, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1810.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 213  Haslington Primitive Methodist Chapel Date 1870-1957  Minutes, fire insurance policy and notice of registration AdminHistory The chapel was built by the Primitive Methodists in 1868 and rebuilt in 1903.  3 items  http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems213&cid=0 Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 58  Haslington Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Date 19th century - 20th century Various records1896-1977 URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems58&cid=0 Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 214 Haslington, Oakhanger Chapel Date 1894-1975  Minutes, fire insurance policies, London Gazette notice AdminHistory The chapel was built by the Primitive Methodists in the 1830s. Extent 4 items URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems214&cid=0 Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 215 Haslington, Winterley Chapel Date 1903-1906  Letter about erection of new schoolroom AdminHistory The chapel was built by the Primitive Methodists in 1834. 4 documents  http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems215&cid=0

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Nantwich

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Haslington on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). date Accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 235, ISBN 0 300 09588 0