Harwich St Nicholas, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Harwich St Nicholas


Guide to Harwick St. Nicholas, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harwich St Nicholas, Essex
St Nicholas Harwich Essex contributor Peter Stack.jpg
St Nicholas Harwich Essex contributor Peter Stack
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harwich Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; For more records see Dovercourt
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harwich
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Chapel History

Harwich is situated on a peninsular projection at the north eastern extremity of the Essex coast, bounded on the east by the North Sea. Harwich comprises the parishes of All Saints Dover Court, and St. Nicholas. There are place of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Harwich St Nicholas, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Harwich St Nicholas, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1559-1977
1559-1957
1559-1989
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Harwich St Nicholas on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.