Harwell, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Harwell, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
Berkshire Parishes

Guide to Harwell, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harwell, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Moreton
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage
Registration District Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

HARWELL (St. Matthew), a parish, in the union of Wantage, hundred of Moreton, county of Berks, 7 miles (S. S. W.) from Abingdon. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Harwell, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
Harwell, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images









OFHS 1558-1952


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Harwell in GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 427-431. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Berkshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  6. 'Berkshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  7. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,' Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.