Hartwith cum Winsley, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Hartwith cum Winsley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hartwith cum Winsley, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Pateley Bridge|
|Registration District||Pateley Bridge|
|Parish registers: 1751|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1755|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Masham|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HARTWITH, with Winsley, a chapelry, in the parish of Kirkby-Malzeard, union of Pateley-Bridge, Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, West Riding of York, 5 miles (south east) from Pateley-Bridge. The chapelry includes the hamlets of Summer-Bridge, Braisty-Wood, and New Laiths. The chapel was built in 1830. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Hartwith cum Winsley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|HARTWITH CUM WINSLEY CHAPELRY (1709) Online Records|
||1709, 1725, 1726
|KIRKBY MALZEARD PARISH (1605) Online Records|
|FS||1605-1764, 1795, 1840-1872
||1737, 1740, 1808
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Hartwith cum Winsley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirkby Malzeard to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRKBY MALZEARD PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 427-431. Date accessed: 6 December 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.