To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hartley County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hartley County, Texas)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hartley County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png



Hartley County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Hartley County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 21 August, 1876
County Seat Channing
Courthouse
TexasHartleyCourthouse.jpg
Address Hartley County Courthouse
PO Box 147
Channing, TX 79018-0147
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today



County Information[edit | edit source]


Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Oliver C. Hartley and his brother, Rufus K. Hartley, two early Texas legislators and lawyers. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]


Hartley County Texas Courthouse.jpg

Hartley County Courthouse
PO Box 147;
Channing, TX 79018-0147
Phone: 806.235.3582

County Clerk has birth records from 1898,
marriage and probate records from 1891,
divorce records from 1903, land records from
1888 and military discharge records from 1919;
District Court has divorce records from 1891
and court records from 1892[2]

County Clerk

900 Main Street
P.O. Box Q
Channing, Texas 79018
Phone: 806-235-3582 Ext. 101
Fax: 806-235-2316

The town of Hartley was the first county seat of Hartley County, from 1891-1896.
In 1896, the county seat was moved to Channing.

Hartley County Courthouse

Hartley County Government website

Hartley County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1891 1903 1892 1888 1891 1829
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1903.
General compliance by the 1930s.


History[edit | edit source]

Hartley County is named for Oliver C. Hartley and his brother, Rufus K. Hartley, two early Texas legislators and lawyers.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1876--Hartley County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District, but was not organized until 1891.

  • County seat: Channing [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Census-designated places

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Dallam  • Moore  • Oldham  • Potter  • Quay County, New Mexico  • Sherman  • Union County, New Mexico

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium Tombstone Project
BillionGraves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
BillionGraves Epodunk
TXGenWeb
Names in Stone
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Church[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Hartley County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • The Book of Years: A History of Dallam and Hartley Counties, 1969, by Lillie Mae Hunter.
  • Hartley County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Union CountyQuay CountyDallam CountySherman CountyMoore CountyPotter CountyOldham CountyTX HARTLEY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hartley County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

The Czech Heritage Society of Texas
Library and Archives
PO Box 1027
La Grange, TX 78945
Telephone Number: 979-968-5230
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Hartley County, Texas TXGenWeb
  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
  • FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Hartley County, Texas," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hartley_County,_Texas. accessed 10/01/2019
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hartley County, Texas. Page 665 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hartley County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Hartley County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hartley_County,_Texas, accessed 5 June 2019.