Hartlepool, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Hartlepool, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Hilda's church, Hartlepool - geograph org uk - 979761
|Poor Law Union||Stockton|
|Parish registers: 1566|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1769|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HARTLEPOOL (St. Hilda), a sea-port, incorporated market-town, and parochial chapelry, in the union of Stockton, NE division of Stockton ward, S division of the county of Durham, 19 miles ESE from Durham, and 257 N by W from London. There are places of worship for Presbyterians, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two important website links to online indexed data for births, marriages and deaths for Hartlepool:
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hartlepool parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hartlepool Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Association
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Hartlepool Town on GENUKI
Hartlepool St Hilda on GENUKI
Hartlepool St Paul on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.