Hartington, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Hartington, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Hartington St Giles Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne Bakewell|
|Registration District||Ashbourne; Bakewell; Chapel en le Frith|
|Parish registers: 1610|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1800|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Hartington|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
HARTINGTON (St. Giles), a parish, partly in the union of Bakewell, and partly in that of Chapel-Enle-Frith, hundred of Wirksworth, N. and S. divisions of the county of Derby, 10 miles (N. N. W.) from Ashborne. EarlSterndale, in the parish, forms a separate incumbency. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hartington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Hartington St Giles (1610) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1900-1912
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Hartington on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 421-427. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.