Hartford County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Connecticut
Hartford County

Guide to Hartford County, Connecticut ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Hartford County, Connecticut
Map
Map of Connecticut highlighting Hartford County
Location in the state of Connecticut
Facts
Founded May 10, 1666
County Seat Hartford
Courthouse
Address 95 Washington Street;
Hartford, CT 06103
Phone: 203.566.3170
Hartford County Website


County Information

Description

  • Named after Hertfordshire, England.

County Courthouse

  • The County is located in the north central area of the state.[1]
  • City Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records
  • Judge has probate records [2]
  • There is no county government.
  • The government is at the town level.

Hartford County, Connecticut

Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Hartford County, Connecticut

Towns Organized Before 1800:

  • Berlin 1785
  • Bristol 1785
  • Canton 1740
  • East Hartford 1783
  • East Windsor 1765
  • Enfield 1683
  • Framington 1645
  • Glastonbury 1693
  • Granby 1786
  • Hartford 1635
  • Hartland 1761
  • Simsbury 1670
  • Southington 1779
  • Suffield 1674
  • Wethersfield 1634
  • Windsor 1633

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: Created 10 May 1666, one of four original counties from the Colonial lands. [3]
  • County Seat: has none since 1960 and the county was created 1668.
  • 14 Oct 1751: The west part was taken to create Litchfield County.
  • 12 May 1726: The east part of the county was taken to form Windham County.
  • 2 May 1785: The southeast portion was taken to create Middlesex County

For animated maps illustrating Connecticut county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Connecticut County Boundary Maps" (1643-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Biographies USGenWeb CTArchives
  • Linkpendium, Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, Correspondence, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).
  • J.H. Sutherland, The city of Hartford and vicinity and their resources, (Hartford [Connecticut] : Evening Post Association, 1900).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library,  FHL US/CAN Book 974.62/H1 D3s.
  • Charles W. Burpee, History of Hartford County, Connecticut. De Luxe Supplement, (Illinois : S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1928).  Includes index.  A selection of biographical sketches from volume 3 of History of Hartford County, Connecticut, 1633-1928, by Charles W. Burpee.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.62 H2b supp.
  • J.H. Beers & Co., Commemorative biographical record of Hartford County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers & Company, 1901).  Includes index.   Online book available at Internet Libraries, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).   Part 1 and 2 are available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.62 D3c pt. 1. or FHL US/CAN Fiche 1000149.
  • Charles W. Burpee, History of Hartford County, Connecticut, 1633-1928 being a study of the makers of the first constitution and the story of their lives, of their descendants and of all who have come, (Chicago, Illinois : S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1928).  Includes indexes.  Volumes 1-3 are available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.62 H2b v. 1, or FHL US/CAN Fiche 6048113 6048113-6048115.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Hartford County, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

 

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 2,683
1800 3,523 31.3%
1810 3,955 12.3%
1820 4,726 19.5%
1830 7,074 49.7%
1840 9,468 33.8%
1850 17,966 89.8%
1860 29,152 62.3%
1870 37,180 27.5%
1880 42,015 13.0%
1890 53,230 26.7%
1900 79,850 50.0%
1910 98,915 23.9%
1920 138,036 39.6%
1930 164,072 18.9%
1940 166,267 1.3%
1950 177,397 6.7%
1960 162,178 −8.6%
1970 158,017 −2.6%
1980 136,392 −13.7%
1990 139,739 2.5%
2000 121,578 −13.0%
2010 124,775 2.6%
Source: Wikipedia.org".
  • United States. Congress (23rd, 1st session : 1833-1834). House of Representatives, Citizens of Hartford County, Ct., 1833 , (Signal Mountain, Tennessee : Mountain Press, [199-?]).  Includes index.  A memorial of citizens of Hartford County, in relation to the currency, addressed to Congress. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.62 X4c.

For tips on accessing Hartford County, Connecticut Genealogy census records online, see: Connecticut Census.

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Church Records

  • Connecticut Genealogy, Hartford County Church Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).  Includes church and vital records.
  • Linkpendium, Church Records, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).  Hartford County.
  • Hartford County Association of Universalists (Hartford County, Connecticut), Records, 1834-1867 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1976).   Microfilm of original records.  Contains the constitution and minutes of meetings. From 1834-1836, the association was called the Connecticut Association of Universalists. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1010151 Item 3.
  • Early records of Hartford, Connecticut land records, 1639-1688; vital records, 1644-1730; probate records, 1635-1750; plus genealogical notes and a manual of the first church in Hartford, (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c1995).   Online database can be downloaded on any computer at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 98.

Court Records

  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (Hartford County), Index to naturalization petitions 1876-1906 (Hartford County, Connecticut - Court of Common Pleas), (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003).  Available at the Family History Library, A to Johanson, Frederick FHL US/CAN Film 2369652 Item 2, and Johanson, Frederick to Z - FHL US/CAN Film 2369653.
  • United States. Circuit Court and District Court, Index to naturalization records, 1926-1992, Hartford [Connecticut], (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2004).  Lists name, volume and page number. Some cards lists name, address, date of admission, petition number, name of court, and signature.  Listed in alphabetical order by surname.  Available at the Family History Library, 1st of 21 Films: FHL US/CAN Film 2370728.
  • Hartford County Connecticut Court Records Directory, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Connecticut. Probate Court (Hartford District), Probate Records, 1649-1932 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1949-1954, 1982).  Microfilm of original records in Hartford, Connecticut.  Hartford Probate District includes the towns of Hartford, Bloomfield, Glastonbury, Newington, Rocky Hill, West Hartford, Wethersfield, and Windsor Locks. Indexes are found within each volume. Volumes 2-6 contain also records of the county courts in Hartford County, sometimes called Quarter courts, Court of Magistrates, particular courts, special courts, etc.  Available at the Family History Library starting with, FHL HL US/CAN Film 4572. 52 microfilm reels, 35 mm.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Hartford County), Court expenses, 1814-1847 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.  Avaiable at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1638066 Item 2.
  • Ullmann, Helen Schatvet, Hartford County (Connecticut). County Court, Manwaring, Charles William 1829-1905Hartford County, Connecticut, county court minutes volumes 3 and 4, 1663-1687, 1697 , (Boston, Massachusetts : New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2005).  Includes fullname index. "This present volume is a transcription of the 'court side' of volumes 3 and 4 of the Hartford County, Connecticut, county court records. In the seventeenth century, Hartford County included the whole northern part of the state, most of the territory from which Litchfield, Middlesex, Windham and Tolland counties were formed. In the reverse of the books are probate records, wills and inventories abstracted many years ago by Charles William Manwaring"...Pref., p. [v].  Available at the Family History Library,FHL US/CAN 974.62 P29u.
  • Barbara B. Ferris and Grace Louise Knox, Connecticut divorces Superior Court records for the counties of Litchfield, 1752-1922 and Hartford 1740-1849 , (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c2000).  Includes index.  Available on the desktop at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 2630 v. 2.

Directories

  • Linkpendium, Directories, Hartford County, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).
  • Price & Lee Company, Avon '(Hartford County, Conn.) city directory including Simsbury, East Granby, Granby, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee Company, [196-?]-).   Available at the Family History Library,FHL US/CAN Book 974.62 E4pa.
  • Price & Lee Company, Hartford suburban (Hartford County, Conn.) city directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, [195-?]-).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.62 E4p.
  • Elihu Geer Sons, Hartford city directory including West Hartford and East Hartford, Connecticut, (Hartford [Connecticut] : Hartford Printing, 1837-).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.62 E4g.
  • Manchester Directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1931-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.62/M1 E4p.
  • Enfield (Connecticut) city directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, [199-?]). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 2308486 Item 1, first of 3 films.
  • Hartford (Hartford County, Conn.) suburban directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut : Primary Source Microfilm, [199-?]). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 2308491 Item 1, first of 3 films.
  • The Greater Hartford directory including Hartford, East Hartford, West Hartford, Wethersfield, Windsor, Bloomfield, and Newington, (Hartford [Connecticut] : Hartford Printing Company, [19--]-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.62 E4ph.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African American

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Lucius Barnes Barbour, Families of Early Hartford, Connecticut, (Baltimore : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1982).   Includes index.  A database for this book can be found at Ancestry$, (accessed 9 August 2017), or WorldVitalRecords.com$, (accessed 4 Mar 2011).  It is also available online at Google Books, (accessed 4 Mar 2011).
  • Hartford County Genealogy 1,985 Hartford county genealogy record sources.
  • Dorothy Huggins Harding, The founder's monument at Hartford, Conn., our lines of descent from early settlers whose names are inscribed on it. Part II, the north face, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1968).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 547077 Item 19.
  • Elmer I. Shepard, Elmer I. Shepard Collection Connecticut and Vermont family group records, ca. 1550-1900 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990).  The Shepard Collection represents the working files of Elmer I. Shepard. He gathered his material from a number of sources, both primary and secondary, and then combined it on 3 x 5 index cards, arranged by geographic location (county and town) and then by surname, listed under the heads of families.  Available at the Family History Library, 4 films starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1684312 Items 12-19.
  • The Hart family of Wallingford, Connecticut and the Hollister family of Wethersfield and Glanstonbury, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2000).  ncludes pedigree information. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1425172 Item 34.
  • Connecticut 1600s-1800s, ([S.l.] : Brøderbund, c2000).   Available on CD at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Access Window CD-ROM no. 9 pt. 515 v. 1, or FHL US/CAN Access Window CD-ROM no. 9 pt. 515 v. 2.
  • Wilder Smith and Gustavus F. Davis, Reminiscences of Gustavus Fellowes Davis, D.D., pastor First Baptist chu rch, Hartford, Connecticut, fifty years ago, (Hartford, Conn. : W. Smith, 1884 (167 p.))  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1321368 Item 5.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.

The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s'. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the name of the town.

  • Deeds USGenWeb CTArchives
  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, Land ownership maps - Hartford County, Connecticut land ownership maps, 1855 and 1884 , (Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079297 -6079298.
  • Tinmouth (Vermont). Proprietors' Clerk, Proprietors records, 1761-1809, (Montpelier, Vermont : Vermont Public Records Division, 1973).  Microfilm of original records filmed at Tinmouth, Vermont.  Contains deeds and land surveys. Also includes land records from various counties in Connecticut. Includes charter book which contains a copy of the 1761 Tinmouth charter and minutes of proprietors meetings.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 944196 Item 4 and 6.
  • 1639-1688 - Early records of Hartford, Connecticut land records, 1639-1688; vital records, 1644-1730; probate records, 1635-1750; plus genealogical notes and a manual of the first church in Hartford, (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c1995).   Available on the desktop at the Family History LIbrary, FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 98.

Local Histories

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Hampden CountyTolland CountyNew London CountyMiddlesex CountyNew Haven CountyLitchfield CountyCT HARTFORD.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Cthartford.jpg

Migration

Military Records

American Revolution

  • Richard Harvey Phelps, Newgate of Connecticut; its original and early history. Being a full description of the famous and wonderful Simsbury mines and caverns, and the prison built over them. To which is added a relation of all the incidents, insurrections, and massacres, connected with their use as a prison for the Tories during the revolution .... An illustrated description of the state prison at Wethersfield, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 19).  Available online at Google Books, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 528763 Item 1.

Civil War

Service men from Hartford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from Hartford County.

  1. 1st Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery - Company A, C, K and L.
  2. 1st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Infantry Company A, B, C, G and Rifle Company A and B.
  3. 1st Squadron, Connecticut Cavalry
  4. 3rd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Rifle Company A and E.
  5. 8th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company B
  6. 14th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company F
  7. 16th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company D, F and K.
  8. 20th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company E
  9. 21st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company B
  10. 22nd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H and I.
  11. 24th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company E
  12. 25th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company C, E and I.

The 1890 Census Veterans Schedules for the Hartford County Hospital are available on roll 118 of "Special Schedules of the Eleventh Census (1890) Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War" (NARA M123). The schedules list veterans and their widows who served as Union soldiers in the Civil War. For more information on the 1890 Veterans Schedules see Union Census Records.

World War I and World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Harford County), Naturalization testimony, v. 1-3, 1868-1898 (Hartford County, Connecticut), (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1320430 Items 3-5.
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (Hartford County), Declarations of intention, v. 1-3, 1876-1906; index to declarations, 1876-1904 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1320430 Items 6-9.
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (Hartford County), Naturalization testimony, 1876-1903 (Hartford County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1320430 Item 11, and FHL US/CAN Film 1320431 Items 1-5.
  • Connecticut. County Court and Superior Court, (Hartford County), Naturalization records, 1834-1906 (Hartford County, Connecticut), (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319703.  (11 films)
  • Connecticut. City Court (Hartford), Naturalization record book, 1876-1876 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Contains petitions for naturalization for persons from the city of Hartford, or nearby towns of Hartford and Tolland counties.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398567 Item 5.
  • Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas (Hartford County), Naturalization records, 1876-1906; index to naturalization, 1876-1903 (Hartford County, Connecticut), (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1320430 Item 10.
  • United States. Circuit Court and District Court, (Connecticut District), Naturalization records (Hartford County, Connecticut), 1906-1945 NARA, RG21, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2007-2008).  The petitions are listed as 'Petition for Naturalization' or 'Petition for Citizenship'.  Includes index.  Includes declaration of intention, petition for naturalization, and petition for citizenship.  Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2429794 Item 1. (110 films)
  • Connecticut. City Court (New Britain) and Connecticut. Superior Court (Hartford County), Naturalization records (New Britain, Connecticut), 1917-1939 NARA, RG21, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2008).  Includes index at the front of each volume. Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2430055 Item 1. (17 films)

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

The records are kept at district courts. The County government does not exist. Not every town has a court. Some are included in a district making up from 1 to 5 towns. The Districts are: Avon, Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Hartland, Manchester, Marlborough, Plainville, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield, and Windsor.

Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records.

Probate Records

  • Charles William Manwaring, A digest of the early Connecticut probate records, (Hartford [Connecticut] : R.S. Peck & Company, 1904-1906).  Includes indexes.  Contents: v. 1. Hartford District, 1635-1700. -- v. 2. Hartford District, 1700-1729. -- v. 3. Hartford District, 1729-1750.
  1. Volume 1 is available online at Google Books, (accessed 8 Mar 2011), Internet Archives, (accessed 8 Mar 2011). 
  2. Volume 2 is available online at Internet Archives, (accessed 8 Mar 2011). 
  3. Volume 3 is available online at Internet Archives, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  4. All three volumes are available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 P2m, and Volume 1: FHL US/CAN Film 873816 Item 1. Volume 2: FHL US/CAN Film 599296 Item 2. Volume 3: FHL US/CAN Film 873816 Item 2.
  • General index to probate files, Hartford Probate District, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1958).  An index to Hartford District probate files deposited in the Connecticut State Library, Dec. 27, 1944, Jan. 4, 1949.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 166067. (11 films)

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Connecticut Vital Records

  • 1639-1688 - Early records of Hartford, Connecticut land records, 1639-1688; vital records, 1644-1730; probate records, 1635-1750; plus genealogical notes and a manual of the first church in Hartford, (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c1995).   Available on the desktop at the Family History LIbrary, FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 98.

Birth

Marriage

Death

  • 1883-1932 - Hartford County (Connecticut). Coroner, Coroner's records, 1883-1932, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988).  Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.  Indexes are found within each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1602529-1602846 Items 1-2. (17 films)

Divorce

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Hartford County), Divorce Papers, 1725-1849 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.  Records are arranged in rough alphabetical order.  Available at the Family History Library, 5 films starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1637917 Item 2.

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Canton Historical Museum
11 Front Street
Canton, CT 06019
860-693-2793
E-mail:Library@CantonMuseum.org
Website

Connecticut Historical Society
One Elizabeth Street
Hartford, CT 06105
860 236-5621 X 228
860 236-2664
E-Mail:education_assistant@chs.org
Website

East Granby Historical Society
P.O. Box 188
East Granby, CT 06026
860-653-2866
E-Mail:moodynancy@att.net
Website

The Historical Society of Glastonbury
P.O. Box 46
Glastonbury, CT 06033
1944 Main St.
Glastonbury, CT 06033
860-633-6890
FAX: 860-633-6890
Website

Manchester Historical Society, Genealogy Group
175 Pine Street
Manchester, CT
860-647-9983/860-528-3122
E-Mail: krismiller13@cox.net
Website

New Britain Public Library<br? 20 High St.
New Britain, CT 06051
(860)224-3155 ext. 125
E-Mail:bpllhr@netscape.net
Website

Polish Genealogical Society of Connecticut and the Northeast, Inc.
8 Lyle Road
New Britain, CT 06053-2104
860-229-8873
E-mail:pgsctne@yahoo.com
Website

Simsbury Historical Society
800 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, CT 06070
860-658-2500
E-mail:archives@simsburyhistory.org
Website

Suffield Historical Society
PO Box 893
Suffield, CT 06078-0893
(860) 668-5256
E-Mail:ArtSikes@aol.com
Website

The Genealogical and Research Library
Old Academy Bldg
150 Main Street
Wethersfield, Connecticut 06109
860 529-7656
E-Mail: society@wethhist.org
Website

Wethersfield Historical Society
150 Main Street
Wethersfield, CT 06109
860 529-7656
FAX 860 563-2609
E-Mail:society@wethersfieldhistory.org
Website

Windsor Historical Society
96 Palisado Avenue
Windsor, CT 06095
860-688-3813
E-Mail: bgoodwin@windsorhistoricalsociety.org
Website

Windsor Locks Historical Society
P.O. Box 733
Noden-Reed Museum
58 West Street
Windsor Locks, CT 06096
860-627-9212
Website

Wintonbury Historical Society
P.O. Box 7454
Bloomfield, CT 06002
860-243-1531
E-Mail: research@bloomfieldcthistory.org
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Hartford County," in Wikipedia:the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hartford_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Hartford County, Connecticut, p.113.
  3. WorldCat 50140092 FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  4. Wikipedia contributors,"Hartford County, Connecticut," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hartford_County%2C_Connecticut, accessed 29 September 2018.
Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Hartford_County,_Connecticut_Genealogy&oldid=3434305"