Hartford, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Parishes
Hartford

Guide to Hartford, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hartford, Cheshire
Hartford St John the Baptist Cheshire.jpg
Hartford St John the Baptist Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837; Separate registers exist for Castle Northwich beginning 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History

HARTFORD, is a village in Great Budworth parish, and a township-chapelry partly also in Weaverham parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the river Weaver, adjacent to the Northwestern railway, 1 ½ mile SW of Northwich; and a post office under Northwich.[1]

Hartford is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1825 from chapelry in Witton, Cheshire Ecclesiastical Parish. Other places in the parish include: Castle Northwich.

The beginning of the church in Hartford was 1821 when a meeting of the inhabitants of resolved to raise sufficient funds for the building of a church. At that time most of the township was served by Witton Chapel, 2 miles away, except for a small area south of Chester Road which formed a detached part of Weaverham parish.

Hartford was a township in Eddisbury Hundred mainly in Witton chapelry of Great Budworth parish (except for a small part was in Weaverham parish), which became a civil parish in 1866.
In 1894 the part of Hartford in Northwich Urban District was added to Northwich. In 1955 the district of Greenbank was added to Northwich and includes the hamlet of Hartfordbeach.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records

Hartford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hartford Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non Conformist Churches

Hartford, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Beach Road. Built in 1833, the present building dates from 1891.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Northwich (1837–1974)
Vale Royal (1974–98)
Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hartford on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.