Harrison County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Harrison County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Gulfport, Biloxi
Organized: 5 February 1841
Parent County(s): Hancock, Jackson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Hancock  • Jackson  • Pearl River  • Stone
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiHarrisonDistrict1Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Harrison County.svg.png
Adoption
Harrison District Courthouse District 2

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named for William Henry Harrison. Harrison County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Harrison County Courthouse - Judicial District 1
1801 23rd Ave
P.O. Box 1461
Gulfport, MS 39502
Phone: 228-865-4000
Harrison County Website

Harrison County Courthouse - Judicial District 2
730 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
P.O. Box 235
Biloxi, MS 39533
Phone: 228-435-8251
Harrison County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1841 and court records.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records.[3]

Harrison County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1841 1 Nov 1912 1840 1841 1853 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1916 Some records were lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1841 Harrison County was created 5 February 1841 from Hancock and Jackson Counties.
  • County seat: Gulfport, Biloxi[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Harrison County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 4,875
1860 4,819 −1.1%
1870 5,795 20.3%
1880 7,895 36.2%
1890 12,481 58.1%
1900 21,002 68.3%
1910 34,658 65.0%
1920 32,855 −5.2%
1930 44,143 34.4%
1940 50,799 15.1%
1950 84,073 65.5%
1960 119,489 42.1%
1970 134,582 12.6%
1980 157,665 17.2%
1990 165,365 4.9%
2000 189,601 14.7%
2010 187,105 −1.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Harrison County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Biloxi

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Harrison County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Pearl River CountyStone CountyGeorge CountyJackson CountyHancock CountyMS HARRISON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Harrison County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Harrison County:

- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company E - Biloxi Rifles, aka Biloxi Rifle Guards
Company H - Dahlgren Guards
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company C - Mayers’ Company
- 17th Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry
Company C - Evans’ Rangers
Company E - Mayers’ Company

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Harrison County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Harrison County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Harrison, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harrison_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harrison County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Harrison County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harrison_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 17 September 2019.