Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Harrison County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Harrison County

Guide to Harrison County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Cynthiana
Organized: December 21, 1793
Parent County(s): Bourbon, Scott[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bourbon  • Bracken  • Grant  • Nicholas  • Pendleton  • Robertson  • Scott
See County Maps
Courthouse
Harrison County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Harrison County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for Benjamin Harrison. The County has Cynthiana as its seat and the County was created December 21, 1793. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Harrison County Courthouse
315 Oddville Avenue
Cynthiana, KY 31031
Phone: 859-234-7130[3]
Harrison County Website

Harrison County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1794 1852 1794 1794 1794 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

1851, 1997--Courthouse disasters destroyed some records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1793--Harrison County was created 21December 1793 from Bourbon and Scott Counties.
  • County seat: Cynthiana[5]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Harrison, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Harrison county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 4,350
1810 7,752 78.2%
1820 12,278 58.4%
1830 13,234 7.8%
1840 12,472 −5.8%
1850 13,064 4.7%
1860 13,779 5.5%
1870 12,993 −5.7%
1880 16,504 27.0%
1890 16,914 2.5%
1900 18,570 9.8%
1910 16,873 −9.1%
1920 15,798 −6.4%
1930 14,859 −5.9%
1940 15,124 1.8%
1950 13,736 −9.2%
1960 13,704 −0.2%
1970 14,158 3.3%
1980 15,166 7.1%
1990 16,248 7.1%
2000 17,983 10.7%
2010 18,846 4.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Asbury] Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Grant CountyPendleton CountyBracken CountyRobertson CountyNicholas CountyBourbon CountyScott CountyOwen CountyKY HARRISON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Harrison County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 3rd Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate). Company A.
- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.
- 9th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.
- 18th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies H, I and K

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Harrison County:

  • June 11-12, 1864 - Cynthiana, also known as Kellar’s Bridge[7]
  • Map showing Civil War battles in Kentucky.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.


Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Harrison County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Harrison County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Harrison County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harrison_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harrison County, Kentucky page 271, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harrison County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Harrison County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harrison_County,_Kentucky, accessed 14 August 2018.
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)
  8. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Harrison_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3454532"