Harnett County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Carolina
Harnett County

Guide to Harnett County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Harnett County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Harnett County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1855
County Seat Lillington
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Harnett Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Information

Harnett County, Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Harnett County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1914
1892
1860
1855
1854

County Courthouse

Harnett County Courthouse
729 S Main Street P O Box 279
Lillington, NC 27546
Phone: 910-893-7540

Register of deeds has birth, marriage and land land rec
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1920
records from 1855-1920 were destroyed in a fire[1]

Register of Deeds
305 W. Cornelius Harnett Blvd, Set 200
Lillington, NC 27546
Phone: 910-893-7540
Fax: 910-814-3841
Website


Clerk Superior Court
301 W Cornelius Harnett
Suite 100
Lillington, NC 27546
Work Phone: (910) 814-4646

History

Parent County

1855--Harnett County was created 7 February 1855 from Cumberland County.
County seat: Lillington [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1892, 1894--Courthouse fires destroyed court records and many of the land records.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncharnett.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Harnett County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Presbyterian

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Harnett County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Harnett County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 10th Battalion, North Carolina Heavy Artillery, Company B
- 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, Company F
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
- 41st Regiment Volunteers - 3rd Cavalry, Company D
- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Isaac William's Company
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Neill McNeill's Company
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Harnett County:

  • March 16, 1865 = Averasborough, also known as Taylor’s Hole Creek, Smithville, Smiths Ferry, or Black River[4]
Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Births
Death
Divorce
Marriage

Yearbooks

Societies and Libraries 

Harnett County Genealogical Society
PO Box 219
Buies Creek NC 27506-0219
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harnett County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. "Barbecue Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.