Harmon County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Harmon County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oklahoma
Harmon County
 

Guide to Harmon County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hollis
Organized: June 2, 1909
Parent County(s): Greer[1]
Neighboring Counties
Beckham  • Childress (TX)  • Collingsworth (TX)  • Greer  • Hardeman (TX)  • Jackson
See County Maps
Courthouse
OklahomaHarmonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ok-harmon.png
Adoption


County Information

Description

Founded in 1909. The new county was named in honor of Judson Harmon, who was Governor of Ohio at the time. The County Seat is Hollis. [2]

County Courthouse

Harmon County Courthouse
County Courthouse
114 W. Hollis
Hollis, Oklahoma 73550
Phone: 580.688-3658
Harmon County Website

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce and court records[1]

Harmon County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1909 1909 1909 1909 1910

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Prior to 1909, Harmon County was a part of Greer County, Texas. Not until this year did a Supreme Court decision officially declare the area part of Oklahoma. As such, some records prior to this date may be found in Texas registers.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Harmon County, Oklahoma:[3]

  • Arnett
  • Gould
  • Hollis (county seat)
  • McQueen
  • Vinson

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Harmon County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information

 

Cemetery indexes and transcriptions

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 11,328
1920 11,261 −0.6%
1930 13,834 22.8%
1940 10,019 −27.6%
1950 8,079 −19.4%
1960 5,853 −27.6%
1970 5,136 −12.3%
1980 4,519 −12.0%
1990 3,793 −16.1%
2000 3,283 −13.4%
2010 2,922 −11.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Harmon County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Land records from 1909 are available in the County Courthouse and in the local County History Museum, both in Hollis.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Harmon County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

  • Belle, Dean. Planning the Route, Harmon County, Oklahoma History (Harmon County Historical Association, 1980).
  • Carter, Edith. Planning Route 2, Harmon County, Oklahoma History (Altus Printing Company, 1987).

Maps and Gazetteers

Wheeler CountyCollingsworth CountyChildress CountyHardeman CountyJackson CountyGreer CountyBeckham CountyOK HARMON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harmon County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Microfilms of many editions of these historical newspapers are available at the Harmon County Library in Hollis.

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Harmon - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Tax records from 1909 can be found at the County Courthouse in Hollis, though the local historical society stores many of these log books in the County History museum. Just ask to see them if you wish.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

The County Courthouse has birth, marriage, and death records from 1909.

Birth

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriage

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorce

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Hollis Public Library
W. Broadway and 2nd Street
Hollis,OK 73550
Telephone: 580-688-2744
Fax: 580-688-9736
Toll free: 888-554-5358
E-mail:hpl@spls.lib.ok.us

Museums

Harmon County Courthouse
114 N. First
Hollis, Oklahoma 73550
Telephone: 580-688-3617

Societies

Harmon County Genealogical Society
102 W. Broadway Str.
Hollis, OK 73550
Telephone: 580-688-9545
Fax: 580-688-2622
E-mail:harcomuseum@pldi.net
Website

Southwest Oklahoma Genealogical Society
PO Box 148
Lawton, OK 73502
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/greer/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Harmon County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harmon_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.