Harlton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Parishes
Harlton

Guide to Harlton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harlton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wetherley
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Chesterton
Registration District Chesterton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barton
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

HARLETON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Wetherley, county of Cambridge, 6½ miles (S. W.) from Cambridge. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Harlton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Harlton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1866 1599-1866
1599-1866

An indexed transcription of the parish registers of Harlton at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Harleton, 1599-1866 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Harlton on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel a., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-413. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.