Harford County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Harford County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Harford County

Guide to Harford County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Bel Air
Organized: December 17, 1773
Parent County(s): Baltimore[1]
Neighboring Counties
Anne Arundel  • Baltimore  • Carroll  • Frederick  • Montgomery  • Prince George's
See County Maps
Courthouse
Harford County Court House Bel Air, Maryland.jpeg
Location Map
MD Harford map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Henry Harford. The County has Bel Air as its seat and the County was created December 17, 1773. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Harford County Courthouse
20 West Courtland Street, Room 304
Bel Air, MD 21014
Phone: 410-838-6000
Harford County Website

County Health Department has birth and death records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage and land records from 1779, divorce and court records from 1803.[3]

Harford County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1774 1898 1773 1774 1790

Record Loss

1858 Some records were destroyed in a fire.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • Created 17 December 1773 from Baltimore County.
  • County seat: Bel Air[4]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Harford County, Maryland:

Cities

Town

Communities

  • Abingdon
  • Cardiff
  • Gunpowder
  • Castleton
  • Churchville
  • Darlington
  • Dublin
  • Forest Hill
  • Joppa
  • Norrisville
  • Pylesville
  • Street
  • Whiteford
  • White Hall

Census Districts

  • Bel Air North
  • Bel Air South
  • Edgewood
  • Fallston
  • Jarrettsville
  • Joppatowne
  • Perryman
  • Pleasant Hills
  • Riverside

Military

  • Aberdeen Proving Ground

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Harford County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Harford County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

Church of England

Court Records

Free online index to thousands of Harford County court cases dating from 1700s to 1900s on The Historical Society of Harford County website.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Harris] Harris, Mrs. Norris. "The Harris Family of Baltimore and Harford Counties," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990):68. FHL US/CAN Book 975 B2m.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Harford County Deed Books (1773-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Harford County

Martenet's Map of Harford County, Maryland

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Harford County men served in the 3rd Maryland Regiment[5] and the 6th Maryland Regiment.[6]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Harford County on page 127.
  • "Harford County, Maryland, Oaths of Fidelity, 1778," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 4 (Fall 1988):126-127; Vol. 30, No. 1 (Winter 1989):10-11; Vol. 30, No. 2 (Spring 1989):46-47; Vol. 30, No. 3 (Summer 1989):88-89; Vol. 30, No. 4 (Fall 1989):126-127; Vol. 31, No. 1 (Winter 1990):6-7. FHL Collection 975 B2m

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Harford County, pp. 149-151. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Harford served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Harford:

- 2nd Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry, Company G, and H
- 7th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company C, and H

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Harford," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harford_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "3rd Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3rd_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "6th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/6th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.