Harding County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
New Mexico
Harding County

Guide to Harding County, New Mexico ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Mosquero
Organized: March 4, 1921
Parent County(s): Mora, Union[1]
Neighboring Counties
Colfax  • Mora  • Quay  • San Miguel  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
NewMexicoHardingCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nm-harding.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county is Canadian River Canyon country to the west, high-plains prairie on the east. In the northern part of the county lies the Kiowa National Grasslands.[2]The County Seat is Mosquero. The county is named for United States President Warren G. Harding, and was created (from part of Union and Mora Counties) on the day of his inauguration as President on March 4, 1921. The county is named for United States President Warren G. Harding. [3]

County Courthouse

Harding County Courthouse
35 Pine Street
PO Box 1002
Mosquero, NM 87733-1002
Phone: 505.673.2301
Harding County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court, and land records from 1921.[1]

Harding County, New Mexico Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1907 1921 1907 1921/#10 1921 1921 1790

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Harding County, New Mexico:[5]

  • Mills
  • Mosquero (county seat)
  • Roy
  • Solano

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Harding County, New Mexico online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1930 4,421
1940 4,374 −1.1%
1950 3,013 −31.1%
1960 1,874 −37.8%
1970 1,348 −28.1%
1980 1,090 −19.1%
1990 987 −9.4%
2000 810 −17.9%
2010 695 −14.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.



Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Harding County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nmharding.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.

Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office

Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court

Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.

See also How to order New Mexico Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for New Mexico Birth Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Mexico.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://www.hardingcounty.org/live/attractions/harding-county-today/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/newmex/harding/
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harding County, New Mexico. Page 473 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 470.
  5. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harding_County,_New_Mexico#Communities