Hardin County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hardin County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Hardin County

Guide to Hardin County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Elizabethtown
Organized: December 15, 1792
Parent County(s): Nelson[1]
Variant Spellings: Harden[2]
Neighboring Counties
Breckinridge  • Bullitt  • Grayson  • Harrison (IN)  • Hart  • Jefferson  • Larue  • Meade  • Nelson
See County Maps
Courthouse
Hardin County Kentucky Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Hardin County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Abe Lincoln's symbolic birthplace cabin, Hardin County (now in Larue County), Kentucky.

County Information

Description

The County was named for John Hardin. The County has Elizabethtown as its seat and the County was created 1792. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Hardin County Courthouse
14 Public Square
Elizabethtown, KY 42701
Phone: 270-765-2171[4]
Hardin County Website

County Clerk has marriage and land records.

Hardin County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1793 1852 1793 1793 1793 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

1864, 1932 Some records were destroyed by fires that occurred on 23 Dec 1864 and 6 Dec 1932.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1792--Hardin County was created 15 December 1792 from Nelson County.
  • County seat: Elizabethtown[6]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]


Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Booth
  • Colesburg
  • Crest
  • Eastview
  • Flint Hill
  • Four Corners
  • Franklin Cross Roads
  • Gaffey Heights
  • Gaithers
  • Glendale
  • Glendale Junction
  • Hansbrough
  • Harcourt
  • Hardin Springs
Census-designated places
  • Fort Knox a military base (partly in Meade County and Bullitt County, although all of the base housing is in Hardin County)


History Timeline

Hardin County History Facts

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Hardin, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Hardin county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 3,653
1810 7,531 106.2%
1820 10,498 39.4%
1830 12,849 22.4%
1840 16,357 27.3%
1850 14,525 −11.2%
1860 15,189 4.6%
1870 15,705 3.4%
1880 22,564 43.7%
1890 21,304 −5.6%
1900 22,937 7.7%
1910 22,696 −1.1%
1920 24,287 7.0%
1930 20,913 −13.9%
1940 29,108 39.2%
1950 50,312 72.8%
1960 67,789 34.7%
1970 78,421 15.7%
1980 88,917 13.4%
1990 89,240 0.4%
2000 94,174 5.5%
2010 105,543 12.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


For tips on accessing Hardin County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Bomar] Wilbur, Tom. Eight Bomar Families of Early Hardin, Hart, and Larue Counties, Kentucky and Some of Their Descendants: A Few Allied Families: Bolton, Buckner, Clopton, Cruse, Dye, Ferguson, Hazle, Highbaugh, Hill, Hodge(s) Jaggers, Lamkin Mears, Owen(s), Shelton, Simpson, Waddle, Wheeler. Okemos, Mich.: T. Wilbur, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 B639w
  • [Hodgen] Mather, Otis May. Six Generations of LaRues and Allied Families: Containing Sketch of Isaac LaRue, Senior, Who Died in Frederick County, Virginia in 1795, and Some Account of His American Ancestors and Three Generations of His Descendants and Families Who Were Connected by Inter-marriage: Among Others Carman, Hodgen, Helm, Buzan, Rust ... : Copies of Six Old Wills and Other Documents, Various Incidents Connected with the Settlement of the Nolynn Valley in Kentucky; Also a Chapter on the La Rue Family and the Child Abraham Lincoln. Hodgenville, Kentucky: O.M. Mather, 1921. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 L329m 1968; FHL US/CAN Film 1208 [2 listings at FHL]; digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive - free; and World Vital Records ($).
  • [Kasey] Schorn, Catherine Scott. "Kaseys in Bedford County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1987):243-248; Vol. 32, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1988):24-32. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 31 (1987)-v. 32 (1988).
  • [LaRue] Mather, Otis May. Six Generations of LaRues and Allied Families: Containing Sketch of Isaac LaRue, Senior, Who Died in Frederick County, Virginia in 1795, and Some Account of His American Ancestors and Three Generations of His Descendants and Families Who Were Connected by Inter-marriage: Among Others Carman, Hodgen, Helm, Buzan, Rust ... : Copies of Six Old Wills and Other Documents, Various Incidents Connected with the Settlement of the Nolynn Valley in Kentucky; Also a Chapter on the La Rue Family and the Child Abraham Lincoln. Hodgenville, Kentucky: O.M. Mather, 1921. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 L329m 1968; FHL US/CAN Film 1208 [2 listings at FHL]; digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive - free; and World Vital Records ($).
  • [Lincoln] Roberts, Gary Boyd. Ancestors of American Presidents. Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2009. FHL Book 973 D2r 2009; online bookstore.
  • [Lincoln] Hatcher, Patricia Law. "The Real Thomas Lincoln of Cumberland County, Kentucky: Not the Father of the President," The American Genealogist, Vol. 85, No. 4 (Oct. 2011):254-261. FHL Book 973 D25aga.
  • [Peebles] Saltzman, Bettie L. Peebles and Linda L. Saltzman McCall. Peebles, 1763-1988. Typescript. 1988 reprint: FHL Book 929.273 P343s.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hardin County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

IndianaHarrison CountyJefferson CountyBullitt CountyNelson CountyLarue CountyHart CountyGrayson CountyBreckinridge CountyMeade CountyKY HARDIN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Hardin County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Kentucky Veteran Cavalry (Union), Companies I and G.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hardin County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Hardin County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hardin County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Hardin County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Hardin County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Samuel R. Brown, The Western Gazetteer or Emigrant's Directory, Containing a Geographical Description of the Western States and Territories, viz. The States of Kentucky, Indiana, Louisiana, Ohio, Tennessee and Mississippi: and the Territories of Illinois, Missouri, Alabama, Michigan, and North-Western (Auburn, N.Y.: H.C. Southwick, 1817), 89. Digital versions at NIU Library Digitization Projects and World Vital Records ($).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Hardin County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardin_County,_Kentucky."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hardin County, Kentucky page 271, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hardin County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Hardin County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardin_County,_Kentucky, accessed 14 August 2018.
  8. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Hardin_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3339022"