Harboør Parish, Ringkøbing, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Ringkøbing County
Harboør


History

Until January 1, 2007 Thyborøn-Harboøre was a municipality in the former Ringkjøbing County on the west coast of the Jutland peninsula in west Denmark and the main town and site of its municipal council was the town of Thyborøn.
Thyborøn-Harboøre municipality ceased to exist as the result of The Municipality Reform of 2007 when it was merged into Lemvig Municipality.The new municipality belongs to the Central Denmark Region (Region Midtjylland).
[1]

Harboør Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Viborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Harboøre-Engbjerg Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Bøvling
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ringkøbing
Herred (district) Vandfuld
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 37
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 101
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 5/200
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names:

Bjerg, Brogaard, Brunsgaard,

Cheminova,

Falkesgaard, Fiskergaard, Flyvholm,

Gajsgaard,

Harboøre, Harboøre Tange, Holmene, Hovgaard,  

Kirkegaard, Kolisgaard, Knopper, Kyndesgaard, Købmandsgaard, 

Langergaard, Langerhuse, Lilleøre,

Madesteder, Mellemvese, Mollerup, Mærskgaard,

Noret, Norgaarde, Normark, Nygaard, Nørre Vrist, Nørrevese,

Paakær,

Røngaarde, Rønland, Rønlanger, Rønlangergaarden, 

Sandholm, Skøttesgaard, Stavsholm, Sønder Vrist,

Trillinggaarde, Tøt,

Vejlby, Vejlby Klit, Vejlby Nord, Vejlby Strand, Victoria Street Station, Vrist

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)


  • Probate Records


Related Sources

  • Digital


  • Printed


Societies and Libraries


References:
 

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.8, Ringkøbing Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1928