Hanford, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Hanford, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Hanford, Staffordshire | |
|---|---|
 | |
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | North Pirehill |
| County | Staffordshire |
| Poor Law Union | Stone |
| Registration District | Stone |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1828 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1828 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Trentham |
| Diocese | Lichfield |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Staffordshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History
Hanford St Matthias is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1828 from Trentham, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. HANDFORD, or Hanford, a parish, in the union of Stone, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 1 mile (N.) of Trentham. [1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Hanford St Matthias was formed in 1828 from part of Trentham, Staffordshire
Hanford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| FREG = FreeREG - free[2] | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch - free[3] |
| HANFORD ST MATTHIAS PARISH (1828) Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FREG | 1828-1920 |
1843-1921 | 1828-1909 |
|||
| FS | 1828-1858 | |
|
| ||
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1828-1972 Mar 1843-1975 Bur 1828-1909
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1828-1866 Mar 1850-1857 Bur 1828-1868
Missing Bap/Marr/Bur 1840-1850
Census records
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Stone Poor Law Union, Staffordshire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
Reference
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 396-401. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
- ↑ 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
- ↑ 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
