Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Hancock County

Guide to Hancock County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Hancock County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Hancock County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 17, 1793
County Seat Sparta
Courthouse
Address Hancock County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Sparta, GA 31087
Phone: 706.444.6644
Hancock County Website



County Information

Hancock County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1927
1806
1927
1800
1794
1794

County Courthouse

Hancock County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Sparta, GA 31087
Phone: 706.444.6644

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927, marriage records from 1805 and probate records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1919 and land records from 1794.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
10571 Highway 15, Room #109
Sparta, GA 31087
Telephone: (706) 444-6644
Fax: (706) 444-5685

Probate Court of Hancock County
3031 East Broad Street
Sparta, GA 31087
Telephone: 706-444-5343
Fax: 706-444-8024

Note: The Hancock County Courthouse burned on August 11, 2014. The county offices have been temporarily relocated to the Oconee Fall Line College, 10571 Highway 15, Sparta, GA. Records listed below may or may not be available, depending on which older records have been microfilmed in the past and which more recent records were stored in the vault when the courthouse burned. Also see Record Loss section below.

History

Parent County

1793--Hancock County was created 17 December 1793 from Greene and Washington Counties.
County seat: Sparta [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

2014 The Hancock County Courthouse, built in 1883, burned on August 11, 2014. Property deeds, birth and marriage certificates and many other vital records dating back to 1795 were destroyed.[3] Many earlier records may be available on microfilm.[4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Baldwin County  • Glascock County  • Greene County  • Putnam County  • Taliaferro County  • Warren County  • Washington County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Hancock, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Hancock County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

  • [Jackson] Brandenberger, Evelyn Duke. "The Jacksons of Lower Virginia"

Vol. 30, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1986):163-169; Vol. 30, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1986):288-295; Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):11-18; Vol. 31, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1987):101-111; Vol. 31, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1987):195-204; Vol. 31, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1987):269-278; Vol. 32, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1988):49-57; Vol. 32, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1988):119-130; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1988):185-192; Vol. 32, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1988):259-263; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1989):34-44; Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1989):135-143; Vol. 33, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1989):204-207; Vol. 33, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1989):295-304.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gahancock.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 6th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 15th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and K
- 49th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Smith, Elizabeth Wiley, and Sara Smith Carnes. 1974. The history of Hancock County, Georgia. Washington, Ga: Wilkes Pub. Co. (page 132-142) 975.8623 H2se
  • Shivers, Forrest. 1990. The land between: a history of Hancock County, Georgia to 1940. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint Co. (page 153-169) 975.8623 H2s
  • Georgia. 1961. Confederate soldiers book, 1893; soldiers and widows pension rolls, 1890 -1943. [S.l.]: Mann Film Laboratories. film 229848, 229849

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1804-1814 - Wills 1804-1814 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1811-1815 - Wills, Inventories, Annual Returns, Guardianships, Sales, Book G, 1811-1815 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1811-1815 - Wills, Inventories, Annual Returns, Guardianships, Sales, Book H, 1811-1815 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1815-1818 -Wills, Inventories, Annual Returns, Guardianships, Sales, Book I, 1815-1818 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1818-1824 - Wills, Inventories, Annual Returns, Guardianships, Sales, Book J, 1818-1824 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1820-1828 - Wills, Book L, 1820-1828 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1823-1828 - Wills, Book M, 1823-1828 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1862-1881 - Index to Wills 1862-1881 Georgia Pioneers $

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1863 - Hancock County Birth Index 1863. Batch C713011 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Fire Destroys Hancock County Courthouse http://www.13wmaz.com/longform/news/local/hancock/2014/08/11/sparta-courthouse-fire/13884407/
  4. Hancock County Courthouse Burned by Dick Eastman http://blog.eogn.com/2014/08/12/hancock-county-georgia-courthouse-burned/
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.