To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hancock County, Georgia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hancock County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Sparta
Organized: December 17, 1793
Parent County(s): Greene, Washington[1]
Neighboring Counties
Baldwin  • Glascock  • Greene  • Putnam  • Taliaferro  • Warren  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
Hancock County Courthouse Sparta, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Hancock County Georgia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for John Hancock. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hancock County Courthouse
12630 Broad Street
Sparta, GA 31087
Phone: 706-444-6644
Hancock County Website

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927, marriage records from 1805 and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1919 and land records from 1794.[3]

Hancock County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1927 1805 1927 1919 1794 1794 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

2014 The Hancock County Courthouse, built in 1883, burned on August 11, 2014. Property deeds, birth and marriage certificates and many other vital records dating back to 1795 were destroyed.[5] Many earlier records may be available on microfilm.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1793 Hancock County was created 17 December 1793 from Greene and Washington Counties.
  • County seat: Sparta[7]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Gum Hill
  • Howell Grove
  • Linton
  • Mayfield
  • Mount Zion
  • Powelton
  • Sandy Run
  • Shoulderbone
  • Springfield
  • Zebulon

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hancock, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Hancock County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

The Uncle Remus Regional Library System website has posted a variety of digitized microfilm court records for Hancock County. Note: ledger indexes may sometimes be found at the end of each microfilm reel.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Jackson] Brandenberger, Evelyn Duke. "The Jacksons of Lower Virginia".
- FHL Book 975.5 B2vg vol. 30 (1986) thru vol. 33 (1989). (See detailed vol and page num listing below).
- American Ancestors. To search digital images online, select The Virginia Genealogist from the dropdown Database list on the search form. Then enter volume and page number (see listing below). Note: Login account is free but required to see results.
Vol. 30, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1986):163-169; Vol. 30, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1986):288-295; Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):11-18; Vol. 31, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1987):101-111; Vol. 31, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1987):195-204; Vol. 31, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1987):269-278; Vol. 32, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1988):49-57; Vol. 32, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1988):119-130; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1988):185-192; Vol. 32, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1988):259-263; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1989):34-44; Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1989):135-143; Vol. 33, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1989):204-207; Vol. 33, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1989):295-304.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Digitized microfilm of Hancock County deed and mortgage books covering the years 1794 through 1900, and Index books for the years 1794 through 1961 can be found at Deeds and mortgages (Uncle Remus Regional Library System). Note: in some cases, indexes of the individual ledgers can be found at the end of the microfilm roll.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Taliaferro CountyWarren CountyGlascock CountyWashington CountyBaldwin CountyPutnam CountyGreene CountyGA HANCOCK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Hancock County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hancock County:

- 6th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 15th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and K
- 49th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I


  • Smith, Elizabeth Wiley, and Sara Smith Carnes. 1974. The history of Hancock County, Georgia. Washington, Ga: Wilkes Pub. Co. (page 132-142) 975.8623 H2se
  • Shivers, Forrest. 1990. The land between: a history of Hancock County, Georgia to 1940. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint Co. (page 153-169) 975.8623 H2s
  • Georgia. 1961. Confederate soldiers book, 1893; soldiers and widows pension rolls, 1890 -1943. [S.l.]: Mann Film Laboratories. film 229848, 229849


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth[edit | edit source]

  • 1863 Hancock County Birth Index 1863. Batch C713011 at FamilySearch[9]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Hancock County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hancock_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Fire Destroys Hancock County Courthouse http://www.13wmaz.com/longform/news/local/hancock/2014/08/11/sparta-courthouse-fire/13884407/
  6. Hancock County Courthouse Burned by Dick Eastman http://blog.eogn.com/2014/08/12/hancock-county-georgia-courthouse-burned/
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Hancock County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hancock_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 20 Febuary 2019.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.