To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hampstead St John, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hampstead St John, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hampstead St John, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hampstead
Registration District Hampstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Hampstead was granted to the Benedictine monks of Westminster Abbey by charter in 986 but, though it is unlikely they did not place a church there soon afterwards, the first concrete record of one comes from 1312 (when it was recorded that John de Neuport was its priest) and 1333 (through a mention of a Chapel dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary). On the Dissolution of the Monasteries, the Abbey was replaced by the Bishop of Westminster.[1]

The civil and ancient parish of St John Hampstead was established by the year 1560.

'HAMPSTEAD (St. John), a parish, in the union of Edmonton, Holborn division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 4 miles north and west of London. Originally in ancient times, hamlet in the parish of Hendon, it became detached from it in 1598.

'Hampstead chapel, in Well Walk, originally the pump-room of the Wells Tavern; and St. John's chapel, Downshire Hill...erected in 1823, are proprietary episcopal chapels. There are chapels of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.'[2]

The Victoria County History of Hampstead (1989) is available online. It includes chapters on manors, estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, Judaism, Buddhism, Sikhism, other faiths, education, and charities for the poor.[3]

Here's a list of Churches and Chapels of St John Hampstead in Pre-1900.

Resources[edit | edit source]

  • Baines, F.E. Records of the Manor, Parish, and Borough of Hampstead, in the County of London, to December 31st, 1889. London: Whittaker and Co., 1890. Digital version at Google Books.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Hampstead St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hampstead St John Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Lay Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Hampstead St John Churchyard database at Find A Grave.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Hampstead on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia: St John-at-Hampstead. Adapted. Date accessed: 8 January 2014.
  2. Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England 391-396. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 23 April 2010).
  3. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 9: Hampstead, Paddington (1989). URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=90 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk