Hampshire County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Hampshire County

Guide to Hampshire County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Romney
Organized: December 13, 1753
Parent County(s): Frederick (VA), Augusta (VA) [1]
Neighboring Counties
Allegany (MD)  • Frederick (VA)  • Grant  • Hardy  • Mineral  • Morgan
See County Maps
Courthouse
OLd Hampshire County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-hampshire.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Hampshire, England. The County has Romney as its seat and the County was created December 13, 1754. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Hampshire County Courthouse
Main Street
Romney, WV 26757-1696
Phone: 304-822-5112
Hampshire County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death records from 1865, probate from 1780, court records from 1831 and land records. [3]

Hampshire County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1865 1865 1865 1831 1757 1780 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost court orders and minute books 1753-1787

Boundary Changes

  • 1753--Hampshire County was created 13 December 1753 from Frederick and Augusta Counties (Virginia).
  • County seat: Romney[5]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Hampshire County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Hampshire census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 7,346
1800 8,348 13.6%
1810 9,784 17.2%
1820 10,889 11.3%
1830 11,279 3.6%
1840 12,295 9.0%
1850 14,036 14.2%
1860 13,913 −0.9%
1870 7,643 −45.1%
1880 10,366 35.6%
1890 11,419 10.2%
1900 11,806 3.4%
1910 11,694 −0.9%
1920 11,713 0.2%
1930 11,836 1.1%
1940 12,974 9.6%
1950 12,577 −3.1%
1960 11,705 −6.9%
1970 11,710 0.0%
1980 14,867 27.0%
1990 16,498 11.0%
2000 20,203 22.5%
2010 23,964 18.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  • Crooked Run (1790)[7]
  • North River (1787)[7]
  • Patterson's Creek (1808)[7]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.


Hampshire County fell within the bounds of the Ketocton Association.

Church of England
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Hampshire County is available online.[8]

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Bear Garden Monthly Meeting (1767-1809)[9]
  • Dillon's Run Monthly Meeting (1795-1822) aka Great Cacapon[9]
  • Howard's Lick Monthly Meeting, Petersburg, W.Va. (1750-1767) aka North Fork.[9] This area is currently located in Grant County.
  • Little Cacapon Monthly Meeting (1748-1755)[9]

Court Records

  • Horton, Vicki Bidinger. Hampshire County, Virginia: Minute Book Abstracts. Green Spring, WV: V.B. Horton, 1993-1994. Volume 1: 1788-1802 and Volume 2: 1817-1823 are available at FHL. Digital versions are available at World Vital Records ($) Volume 1 and Volume 2.
  • Hampshire County Court, 1816-1923 at Ancestry ($)

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

In 1860, census takers recorded slaves' names on slave schedules in Hampshire County.[10]

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]


  • Cartmell, T. K. Shenandoah Valley Pioneers and Their Descendants: A History of Frederick County, Virginia (Illustrated) from Its Formation in 1738 to 1908, Compiled Mainly from Original Records of Old Frederick County, Now Hampshire, Berkeley, Shenandoah, Jefferson, Hardy, Clarke, Warren, Morgan and Frederick. c1909. FHL Book 975.59 H2c 1963; FHL Film 1000634 Item 1; digital versions at Ancestry ($); FamilySearch Books Online and World Vital Records ($).
  • O'Dell, Cecil. Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia. Marceline, Mo.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Collection. One of the most impressively researched one-place studies in the United States. In a review, Dorman stated "Comprehensive studies such as this appear only rarely. This volume should be in every Virginia genealogical collection."[11]


  • Adams - "The Adams Family of Frederick and Hampshire Counties, Virginia," Frederick Findings, Vol. 4, No. 1 (Winter 1991):39-48; Vol. 4, No. 2 (Spring 1991):91-100; Vol. 4, No. 3 (Summer 1991):143-152; Vol. 4, No. 4 (Fall 1991):213-222; Vol. 5, No. 1 (Winter 1992):3-12; Vol. 5, No. 2 (Spring 1992):73-82; Vol. 5, No. 3 (Summer 1992):145-154; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Fall 1992):215-224; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Winter 1993):3-12; Vol. 6, No. 2 (Spring 1993):75-84; Vol. 6, No. 3 (Summer 1993):149-158; Vol. 6, No. 4 (Fall 1993):217-226; Vol. 7, No. 1 (Spring 1994):1-10; Vol. 7, No. 2 (Summer 1994):73-82; Vol. 7, No. 3 (Fall 1994):147-156; Vol. 7, No. 4 (Winter 1994):213-222; Vol. 8, No. 1 (Spring 1995):3-12; Vol. 8, No. 2 (Summer 1995):73-82; Vol. 8, No. 3 (Fall 1995):145-154; Vol. 8, No. 4 (Winter 1995):217-226; Vol. 9, No. 1 (Spring 1996):1-10; Vol. 9, No. 2 (Summer 1996):71-80; Vol. 9, No. 3 (Fall 1996):141-150; Vol. 9, No. 4 (Winter 1996):211-220; Vol. 10, No. 1 (Winter 1998):1-10; Vol. 10, No. 2 (Spring 1998):71-81 ... FHL Book 975.59 D25f.
  • Alt - , Monte Paul. Buzzard and Alt Families. San Luis Obispo, Calif.: M.B. Buzzard, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 B988bu.
  • Alt - Ross, Clara Mae Alt. Alt/Ault Public Records in Grant and Pendleton counties of West Virginia. Colfax, N.C.: C.M. Ross, 2003. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Arnold - Rutherford, Dolores Crumrine. Abstracts of Virginia Families: Vol. 1. MSS. Microfilmed 1990: FHL Film 1597677 Item 12
  • Asbury - Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Beeler - Pappas, Carolyn H. "Christopher Beeler, 1705-1775," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1999):243-255; Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):18-30; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):115-125. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Beeler - Pappas, Carolyn H. "Christopher Beeler's Second Wife," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 49, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2005):156-157. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Beyser - Lebherz, Margaret G. Jacob Beyser and Family, 1746-1986. 1987. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. 1989 supplement has also been digitized: FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Blue - Blue, John S. History and Tales of a Pioneer. Rensselaer, Ind.: J.S. Blue, 1980. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Bowell - Bowell, Lillian and William Bowell. A Bowell Family History. St. Paul, Minn.
  • Bowley - McPhaul, Margaret Bowley. The Bowley-Boley Family and Their Descendants: The Iron Furnace Workers of Hampshire County, West Virginia, 1750-1996. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1999. FHL Collection.
  • Brenton - Brenton, Chester F. The Life and Times of James Brenton, Major, Virginia Militia. 1976. FHL Book 921.73 B753b.
  • Brenton - Brenton, Chester F. Descendants of Henry Brenton Sr. Spokane, Wash.: C.F. Brenton, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 B753bd.
  • Brenton - Brenton, Chester F. Descendants of Brentons of Bourbon County, Kentucky. Spokane, Wash.: C.F. Brenton, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B753bn.
  • Brown - Bell, Raymond Martin. The Ancestry of Richard Milhouse Nixon. 3rd ed. Washington, Pa., 1971. FHL Book 929.273 N654b.
  • Brown - Jones, Gerald Edward. "The Benjamin Brown Family of Laurens, S.C., and Colonial Virginia," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 47, No. 3 (Aug. 2009):192-212. FHL Book 975.5 B2vs.
  • Brown - Roberts, Gary Boyd. Ancestors of American Presidents. Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2009. FHL Book 973 D2r 2009; online bookstore.
  • Buzzard - Buzzard, Monte Paul. Buzzard and Alt Families. San Luis Obispo, Calif.: M.B. Buzzard, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 B988bu.
  • Camby - Morriso, Patricia Hewitt. From the Potomac to the Columbia; The Camby or Cambe Family. Yorba Linda, Calif., 1994. FHL Book 929.273 C144m.
  • Carter - Katheder, Thomas. "Origins of James Carter, Sr. (ca.1741-1812) of Loudoun County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 47, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2003):295-310. Digital version at American Ancestors ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Coberly - Arthaud, John Bradley. "Dr. James Stell Coberly 18th Century Migrant from New Jersey to Virginia and Revolutionary Patriot," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1982):112-117; Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1982):183-189. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 26 (1982).
  • Coberly - Harter, Mary. "James Cunningham of Western Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):9-16; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):109-116. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985).
  • Coberly - Arthaud, John Bradley. A Coberley/Coberly/Cuberly Genealogy 1690-1985. 1985.
  • Collins - Cresap, Joseph Ord and Bernarr Cresap. The History of the Cresaps. Revised edition. Gallatin, Tenn.: Cresap Society, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 C863c 1987.
  • Coomes - Payne, Henry D. William Coomes of Fort Harrod and Bardstown, Kentucky. Mt. Carmel, Ill.: H.D. Payne, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 C782p.
  • Cresap - Cresap, J. Ord et al. The History of the Cresaps. McComb, Miss.: The Cresap Society, 1937. FHL Film 897292 Item 1.
  • Cresap - Cresap, Joseph Ord and Bernarr Cresap. The History of the Cresaps. Revised edition. Gallatin, Tenn.: Cresap Society, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 C863c 1987.
  • Deever - Deever, Gladys. The Deever Heritage - Etherington Influence: With Bonebrake, Morgan, Wilkin, and Related Lines. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 D36d.
  • Devolt - Ricketts, June. The Devolt--Tevault Family, 1782-1982. Linville, Ind.: J. Ricketts, 1982?. FHL Film 1481367 Item 14.
  • Early - Some Biographical Sketches of David Early and His Descendants. Columbus, Ohio: Hann & Adair, 1896. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Ellifrit - Ellifrit, Ralph S. A Brief Preliminary History of Our Ellifrit Branch. Houston, Texas: R.S. Ellifrit, 1977. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Ellifrit - Strever, Neva. Ellifritz, Ellifrit, Ellifritt, Ellifrits, Family Group Records, ca. 1700-1990. Hesperus, Colo.: N. Strever, 1991. FHL Large Q Book 929.273 EL55s.
  • Ely - Carder, Emma Ann Ely. No More at Present: From a Cache of Old Letters. n.d. FHL Book 929.273 C178n.
  • Enoch - Keith, Arthur L. "The Enoch (Enochs) Family," Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 4 (1923):442-445. Reprinted in Genealogies of Virginia Families from Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine. Volume I: Albidgton-Gerlache. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Company, Inc., 1981. Free Name Search[12]; publisher's bookstore: Genealogical.com; FHL Book 975.5 D2gvf v. 1.
  • Enochson - The American Genealogist, Vol. 37:104-110; Vol. 37, 219-228. FHL 973 D25aga v. 37
  • Enochson - McCracken, George E. "Enochsons of Virginia and Pennsylvania," The American Genealogist, Vol. 46, No. 4 (Oct. 1970):255. FHL 973 D25aga v. 46.
  • Everman - Haraldson, Irene Everman. Record of Michael Everman of Germany, Immigrant [of] 1732, and of His Descendents in Part. Reeds Spring, Mo.: I.E. Haraldson, 1967. FHL Book 929.273 Ev27h.
  • Farley - Price, Vergie Farley. Ancestors and Descendants of Bernard Gale Farley, 1901-1990, and Hilma Hazel Hune, 1903-1989: From Their Immigrant Ancestors, Thomas Farley (?-1782) and Heinrich C. Hune (1784-1849) Through 1997 and Allied Lines. Grove City, Ohio: V.F. Price, 1998. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Flesher - Casdorph, Shirley A. Parsons. Parsons People of Virginia, West Virginia. Mesa, Ariz.: Cox Printing, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 P251c.
  • Fulkamore - Flint, Rosalie Viola Matthews. Vulgamore, Fulkamore Family History, 1769-1992: The Family History of John Martin Fulkamore, ca. 1745-1821 of Hampshire County, West Virginia, and His Descendants. Quincy, Wash.: R. Flint, 1993. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Haines - The Descendants of John Newton & Nellie Lee Simmons Haines.
  • Harness - Harness, Harold Duncan. A Glimpse of the Past - The Harness Family History. Bel Air, Md.: H.D. Harness, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 H229h.
  • Hellyer - Spiros, Joyce V. Hawley. Genealogy of Thomas Hellyer and His Wife Cynthia. Gallup, N.M.: Verlene Publishing, 1983? FHL Book 929.273 H369s.
  • Hellyer - Spiros, Joyce V. Hawley. Genealogy of George Hellyer and Mary Spaid. Gallup, New Mexico: J.V.H. Spiros, 1985? FHL Book 929.273 H369sjv.
  • Hickle - Moss, Ernestine Parke. Hickle Heritage. 2 vols. Memphis, Tenn.: E.P. Moss, 1979-1986. FHL Books 929.273 H527m.
  • Hite - Dillon, Ruth Wilson Van Deusen and Marguerite Relyea Lewis. The Chinn Book. Cottonport, La.: Polyanthos, 1972. FHL Book 929.273 C441d.
  • House - Obetz, Francis H. The House - Houz Family of Germany, Hampshire County, West Virginia and Allegheny County, Maryland. n.d. Microfilmed 1971: FHL Film 824070 Item 9.
  • Hubbard - Hubbard, Carol A. Eleven Generations of the Hubbard Family: Virginia; Hampshire County, West Virginia (1778); Ross County, Ohio (1797); Pickaway County, Ohio (1803); Present (2007) and a Genealogical Case Study Titus Hubbard Determined Not to be the Son of John3 Hubbard. Columbus, Ohio: C.A. Hubbard, 2005. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Huffman - Roberts, Gary Boyd. Ancestors of American Presidents. Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2009. FHL Book 973 D2r 2009; online bookstore.
  • Hutton - Ward, Flora Lusk. Genealogical Notes on the Hutton Family (Indentures, Wills, Land Records) West Virginia. MSS. Microfilmed 1971: FHL Film 824076 Item 10.
  • Jackson - Jackson, Nancy Ann. Col. George Jackson (1757-1831), the Man and the Individuals Buried in His Orchard Place: The Legacy of the Historic Jackson Cemetery. Claksburg, W.Va.: N.A. Jackson, 2006. FHL Book 921.73 J134j.
  • Jacob - Smith, Zachary F. and Mary Rogers Clay. The Clay Family. Louisville, Ky.: John P. Morton and Company, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • Johnson - Lehman, Mary Jean Johnson. A History of Four Families. Cincinnati, Ohio: M.J.J. Lehman, 1996? FHL Book 929.273 J633L.
  • Jones - Lewis, Anna Wox. Family History of Peter and John Jones: Thru Their Ohio Descendants. Typescript. Microfilmed 1949: FHL Film 13167 Item 11.
  • Keith - Young, Laurie M. Family Notes on Keith, Lott, Sketoe, Donahoo and Arnold of Muhlenberg : Lear and Sheffield of Christian, Todd and Muhlenberg County, Kentucky; Smith and Beck, Spencer County, Indiana; Moffitt, Randolph County, North Carolina, Perry, Hickman and Humphries Co., Tn. Boise, Idaho: L.M. Young, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 K269y.
  • Kercheval - Dillon, Ruth Wilson Van Deusen and Marguerite Relyea Lewis. The Chinn Book. Cottonport, La.: Polyanthos, 1972. FHL Book 929.273 C441d.
  • Kiger - Pappas, Carolyn H. "Christopher Beeler, 1705-1775," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1999):243-255; Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):18-30; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):115-125. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Lander - Lander, David and Peggy Roberta Brown Chapman. History of the Lander Family of Virginia and Kentucky. Chicago, Illinois: Regan Printing House, 1926. 1993 reprint available at FHL.
  • Largent - Eustice, Joanne. History of Thomas Largent (1760-1831) and Wife Eleanor Shivers of Hampshire Co., VA (WV). St. George, Utah: J. Eustice, 2006. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • LaRue - Mather, Otis May. Six Generations of LaRues and Allied Families: Containing Sketch of Isaac LaRue, Senior, Who Died in Frederick County, Virginia in 1795, and Some Account of His American Ancestors and Three Generations of His Descendants and Families Who Were Connected by Inter-marriage: Among Others Carman, Hodgen, Helm, Buzan, Rust ... : Copies of Six Old Wills and Other Documents, Various Incidents Connected with the Settlement of the Nolynn Valley in Kentucky; Also a Chapter on the La Rue Family and the Child Abraham Lincoln. Hodgenville, Kentucky: O.M. Mather, 1921. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 L329m 1968; FHL US/CAN Film 1208 [2 listings at FHL]; digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive - free; and World Vital Records ($).
  • Lewis - Long, Daniel Reid. John Lewis "The Lost Pioneer", His Ancestors and Descendents (1670-1970). Baltimore, Md.: D.R. Long, 1971. FHL Book 929.273 L585Lo.
  • Lewis - Hinson, Gail Whiteaker. Some Descendants of John Lewis & Margaret Rees of Wales, 1713-1997. Decorah, Iowa: Anundsen, 1997? FHL Book 929.273 L587h.
  • Linn - Hull, Margaret Virginia. Genealogical History of the Family of William Linn Who Came from Belfast, Ireland, in 1771. Scottdale, Pa.: Mennonite Publishing House, 1932. FHL Book 929.273 L649hm.
  • Locke - Tiller, Linda Locke, Ardith H. Johnson, Jeanne R. Stanis, and Stella Locke. "Locke Families of Southwest Virginia," The Southwest Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 4 (1978):25-33. FHL Book 975.57 D25s v. 1 (1978).
  • McColloch - McColloch, Samuel Wilbur. McColloch Family of Ohio County, W.Va. Katy, Texas: S.W. McColloch, 2003. FHL Book 929.273 M133ms.
  • McKee - Sunley, Emil M. The Descendants of Samuel Edward McKee and Martha Ann Emmart. Bethesda, Md.: E.M. Sunley, Jr., 1968. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Male - Mayhle, Bernard Victor. The Males of Barbour County, West Virginia. 1983.
  • Male - Barnett, Glenn W. Mayle-Male-Male Family Kinship: Four Generations of Descendants of Mary Elizabeth Male nee Cockit.
  • Male - Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland, and Delaware (2005). Digital version online
  • Male - Finley, Alexandra. "Founding Chestnut Ridge: The Origins of Central West Virginia's Community," Senior Honor's Thesis, The Ohio State University (2010). Digital version online.
  • Means - Newton, John Lee. The Means Family of Paris, Edgar County, Illinois: This is a Year 2002 Update of the 1972 "The Means Family of America";, Chapter 2, Edited by Elizabeth Cissel Foglesong. Dallas, Texas: J.L. Newton, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 M462n.
  • Milleson - Heller, W. Ralph. The Milleson Family of West Virginia: Presented to Members of the Family at the Seventh Annual Family Reunion, June 26-28, 1981, Fort Ashby, Mineral County, West Virginia. Bound Brook, N.J.: W.R. Heller, Jr., 1981. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Muhlenberg - Meade, William. Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia. 2 vols. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861. Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II - free.
  • Nash - Meade, William. Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia. 2 vols. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861. Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II - free.
  • Newman - Loveless, Richard William. Potpourri, I-III: (French: The Writings of a Miscellanarian). 3 vols. Salt Lake City, Utah: Historical Publications, 1972-1974. FHL Book 929.273 P871Lp.
  • Nixon - Nixon, George Darrell. The Lineage of George D. Nixon from George Nixon and Elizabeth Arnold, Hampshire County, Virginia, circa 1740. Walnut Creek, Calif.: G.D. Nixon, 1985? Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Osman - Osman, Osmon, Ozmun, Etc. Typescript. Microfilmed 1986: FHL Film 1435492.
  • Parker - Campbell, Kathryn Hutcherson. John Parker, the Virginian, and His Descendants, 1749-1980: Johannas (John) Peters (1675-1766), Hampshire Co., Va. (now W. Va.). Dallas, Tex.: K.H. Campbell, 1980. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Parriott - Young, M.L. Parriott - Turner Family History. Mediapolis, Iowa: M.L. Young, 1970. FHL Book 929.273 P248y.
  • Peters - Campbell, Kathryn Hutcherson. John Parker, the Virginian, and His Descendants, 1749-1980: Johannas (John) Peters (1675-1766), Hampshire Co., Va. (now W. Va.). Dallas, Tex.: K.H. Campbell, 1980. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Peters - Lutz, June Shaull. Historical Account of the Peters Family. Grand Rapids, Mich.: J.S. Lutz, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 P442Lj.
  • Pierpoint - Stickney, A.B. "The American Ancestry of John Pierpoint of (West) Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1958):51-61. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
  • Plum - Fauskee, L.P. The Descendants of John Plum from West Virginia. Santa Barbara, Calif.: L.P. Fauskee, 1992? FHL Book 929.273 P73f.
  • Post - Poinsett, Doris Jean Post. Valentin Pfost/Post, 1740-1800, of Hardy County (West) Virginia and Some of His Descendants. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1989. Digital version at Family History Archives; FHL Book 929.273 P845p.
  • Price - Price, Kenneth E. Descendants of Arjalon Price, Jr.: A Compilation of Lineage Data on Prices, and on Principal Allied Families, Baker, Briggs, Cockayne, Cresap, Hill, Kight, Parriott. Camillus, N.Y.: K.E. Price, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 P931pk.
  • Pursell - Winchester, Warren. "Thomas Pursell of New York New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware: Early Descendants in Maryland, Virginia (now West Virginia), and Kentucky," The American Genealogist, Vol. 81, No. 2 (Apr. 2006):110-120. FHL 973 D25aga v. 81.
  • Radabaugh - Buzzard, Monte Paul. Buzzard and Alt Families. San Luis Obispo, Calif.: M.B. Buzzard, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 B988bu.
  • Ravenscroft - Ravenscroft, Ruth Thayer. Ravenscroft Family History. Colorado Springs, Colo.: R.T. Ravenscroft, 1954. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Ravenscroft - Smith, Perry Ravenscroft. John Ravenscroft, Sr., of Hampshire County, Va., and His Descendants. State College, Pa.: P.R. Smith, 1975. FHL Film 2055413 Item 3.
  • Ravenscroft - Arthur, Marion Madaline Jones. Some Descendants of James and Sarah (Ravenscroft) Jones: Including Separate Sections of the the Connecting Families of Ravenscroft, Collins, Hickman, Richards and Cain. Mt. Lookout, W.Va.: M.J. Arthur, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 J71ar.
  • Renick - Renick, E.I. "The Renick Family of Virginia," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul. 1899): 221-227. Digitized by Internet Archive - free.
  • Rigor - Henrick, Ruby Rigor. Rigor and Associate Families from Illinois: With Ancestors, Rager, Riger, Reager, Etc. St. Louis, Mo.: R.R. Henrick, 1982. FHL Book 929.273 R449hr.
  • Rinehart - Rinehart, John Sargent. Ancestry of John Sargent Rinehart (and His Siblings). Santa Fe, N.M.: J.S. Rinehart, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 R472ri.
  • Rogers - Rogers, Lon B. "Colonel James Rogers (1742--1828) Nelson County Pioneer," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1961):3-6.
  • Rogers - Czarny, Linda Saul. Rogers Run: James Rogers and His Descendants. Denver, Colo.: L.S. Czarny, 1977. FHL Book 929.273 R632c.
  • Ross - Jobson, Robert C. "The Ross Family of Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania and Kentucky," The Kentucky Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 2 (April/June 1983):69-71. FHL Book 976.9 B2kg v. 25 (1983).
  • Royse - Pappas, Carolyn H. "Christopher Beeler, 1705-1775," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1999):243-255; Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):18-30; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):115-125. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Salts - Salts, Walter. The Salts Genealogy: The Family and Descendants of Thomas and Mary Salt(s) Who Were Living in Hampshire County, Virginia (Now West Virginia) in 1782, and Who Purchased Land in Ross County, Ohio in 1814. West Lebanon, Ind.: W. Salts, 1978. FHL Book 929.273 Sa37a.
  • Saville - Saville, Frank L. and Nancy R. Saville. The Saville Family in America: With English Origins. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 Sa94s.
  • Seaton - Katheder, Thomas. "Seaton of Fauquier County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):83-102. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Shanholtzer - Kerns, Wilmer L. Peter Shanholtzer, Sr.: Father of All Shanholtz/Shanholtzers in Hampshire County, West Virginia and Adjoining Counties. Typescript. Microfilmed 1979: FHL Film 1036271 Item 7.
  • Shanholtzer - Kerns, Wilmer L., Audrey Sine Baker, and Adah Shanholtzer Hedrick. Shanholtzer History and Allied Family Roots of Hampshire County, W.Va. and Frederick County, Va. Parsons, W.Va.: McClain Print. Co., 1980. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Short - Fee, Audrey Wolford. Wolford, Short, Pritchard, Scott, Alexander, Grimm, Horn, Stoltenberg, Schlichting Genealogical History. 1957. FHL Film 1020783 Item 10.
  • Sibole - Davis, Ruth and Darrol Davis. History of the Sibole Family, 1809-1975. Richmond, Calif.: Davis, 1976. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Revision of 1971 and 1955 editions.
  • Sibole - Descendants of Joseph Sibole Sr. Typescript. 1976-1977. FHL Film 1036561 Item 5.
  • Spaid - Secrest, Abraham Thompson. Spaid Genealogy from the First of the Name in This Country to the Present Time, With a Number of Allied Families and Many Historical Facts. Columbus, Ohio: A.T. Secrest, 1922. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Stone - Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Stump - Stump, Joseph and Jacob Milton Stump. History or record of the descendants of Peter Stump, of Hampshire County, West Virginia whose exact date, and place of birth, is unknown : with a biographical sketch of some of the descendants, who number up in the thousands which has continued through 3 centuries. 1956. FHL Film 1321317 Item 2.
  • Switzer - Burkholder, Cornelia Juliet Switzer. The Switzers of Virginia and West Virginia. Harrisonburg, Va.: C.S. Burkholder, 1930. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Tarvin - Tarvin Family Association. The Descendants of George Tarvin IV: Tenth Child of Reverend George Tarvin. Bountiful, Utah: Family History Publishers, 1993. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Tarvin - Tarvin Family Association. The Descendants of Thomas Tarvin: First Child of Reverend George Tarvin. Bountiful, Utah: Family History Publishers, 1997. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Tasker - Lavins, Eric S. and James R. Tasker. Tasker Heritage Family Tree. Solon, Ohio: E.S. Lavins, 1996. FHL Film 2055413 Item 8.
  • Timmons - Corum, Frank. Captain George Timmons, Fact and Fiction. Hanson, Ky., 1990. FHL Book 929.273 T484c.
  • Triplett - Lytle, Leonard. The Descendants of Joseph Triplett of Hardy County, West Virginia, and Summit and Licking Counties, Ohio. Ballycastle, N.I.: J.S. Scarlett, 1955. FHL Fiche 6017233.
  • Tulles - Mitchell, Estelle E. Tulles Genealogy. Long Beach, Calif.: E.E. Mitchell, 1969. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Vulgamore - Flint, Rosalie Viola Matthews. Vulgamore, Fulkamore Family History, 1769-1992: The Family History of John Martin Fulkamore, ca. 1745-1821 of Hampshire County, West Virginia, and His Descendants. Quincy, Wash.: R. Flint, 1993. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Waggoner - Wagoner, Crystal V. John Waggoner (1751-1842) and Margaret (Bonnet) Waggoner: Ancestors, Families, and Descendants. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, Inc., 1995. FHL Book 929.273 W124wc.
  • Waxler - Price, Vergie Farley. Ancestors and Descendants of Bernard Gale Farley, 1901-1990, and Hilma Hazel Hune, 1903-1989: From Their Immigrant Ancestors, Thomas Farley (?-1782) and Heinrich C. Hune (1784-1849) Through 1997 and Allied Lines. Grove City, Ohio: V.F. Price, 1998. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Weedman - Weedman, H.N. et al. Weedman Newsletter. 45+ vols. 1968-present. FHL Book 929.27305 W41a.
  • Wilson - Maxwell, C.J. Descendants of William Wilson (1722-1801) and Elizabeth Blackburn. Dallas, Texas: C.J. Maxwell, 1943. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Wise - Stewart, Mildred Beth Wise and Richard McCoy Dickinson. They Dared to Be Wise: The Ancestors and Descendants of James Thomas Wise... Fairborn, Ohio: M.B.W. Stewart, 1990. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • Wolford - Fee, Audrey Wolford. Wolford, Short, Pritchard, Scott, Alexander, Grimm, Horn, Stoltenberg, Schlichting Genealogical History. 1957. FHL Film 1020783 Item 10.
  • Wright - Wright, F.N. History of the Wrights and Their Connections: Being a Record of Gabriel Wright and His Issue and Their Posterity, Particularly Through the Lineage of David Wright Sr.; Including Many of the More Distand [sic] Relatives, and Giving the Post Offices of the Living. n.d. Microfilmed 1979. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Hampshire County [West] Virginia Personal Property Tax Lists, 1800-1814 at Ancestry ($)
  • Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes Hampshire County.
  • Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1775-1800. Vol. III. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1993. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes Hampshire County.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hampshire County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Morgan CountyFrederick CountyHardy CountyGrant CountyMineral CountyAllegany CountyWV HAMPSHIRE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1977):287-292. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg; digital version at American Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Hampshire County's 1786 Delinquent List appears on p. 289.

Military Records

Indian Wars

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. FHL Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Westmoreland County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington, D.C.: n.p., 1903. Digital version at Google Books; 1965 reprint: FHL Book 975.5 H2bw 1965. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Hampshire County, see pp. 85-86.

Revolutionary War

Regiments. Service men in Hampshire County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Hampshire County supplied soldiers for the:

- 8th Virginia Regiment
- 12th Virginia Regiment (2nd and 3rd Companies)[13]

Additional resources:

Hampshire residents recommended for military commissions during the Revolutionary War.[14]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Hampshire County on page 134.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($); FHL Book 973 M24ur. Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865

War of 1812

Hampshire County men served in the 77th and 114th Virginia Regiments.[15]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Hampshire served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hampshire County:

- 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company F (Hampshire Riflemen aka New Creek Riflemen).[16]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company D.[17]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (The Frontier Rifles) and Company K (The Hampshire Guard).[18]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Companies B, C, F, I, and K.[19]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E.[20]
- 62nd Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Company H.[21]

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

  • 1782-1814 Heinegg, Paul. "Hampshire County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1814," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1786 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1977):287-292. Digital version at American Ancestors ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg. These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Hampshire County's 1786 Delinquent List appears on p. 289.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL Book 975.5 R4sn v. 1. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Hampshire County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1800-1814 Horton, Vicki Bidinger. Hampshire County, Virginia (WV) Personal Property Tax Lists, 1800-1814. Romney, W. Va.: Hampshire Review, 1995. FHL Book 975.495 R28ho.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL Book 975 E4w v. 6. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Hampshire County is included in Vol. 6.

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

  • Good, Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert. Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Hampshire County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hampshire_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hampshire County, West Virginia. Page 743 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hampshire County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Hampshire County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hampshire_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 03 July 2018.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 386-387. Digital version at Google Books.
  8. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. Tony Burroughs, "African American Research," in The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy. Digital version at Ancestry Wiki - free.
  11. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):236.
  12. Name Search at Genealogical.com is a comprehensive name index to 638 books and CDs published or reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Company (now Genealogical.com). For a complete list of the works included, see Publications in Name Search at Genealogical.com
  13. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 67-68. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  14. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 34. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  15. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 100. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  16. Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.
  17. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  18. David F. Riggs, 13th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 49.
  19. Roger U. Delauter, 18th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 18.
  20. Richard B. Kleese, 23rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 118.
  21. Roger U. Delauter, 62nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 41.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Hampshire_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3403548"