Hammersmith St Peter, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hammersmith St Peter

Guide to Hammersmith St Peter, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hammersmith St Peter, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Fulham
Registration District Kensington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Hammersmith, Fulham, Chelsea, St. George-Hanover-square, St. John-the-Evangelist-Westminster, St. Margaret-Westminster, St. Peter-Westminster, St. Martin-in-the-Fields, St. James Westminster, St. Marylebone, Hampstead, St. Pancras, Islington, Stoke Newington, Hackney, St. George-Bloomsbury, St. Giles-in-the-Fields, St. Anne-Soho, St. Paul-Covent-garden, St. Mary.[1]

St Peter Hammersmith was a district church established in the 1836, lying within the civil parish of St Paul Hammersmith.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Online Hammersmith St Peter Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1868-1876 findmypast[2] 1836-1837 findmypast[3]
Unknown findmypast[4] 1836-1837 findmypast[5]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Hammersmith on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  3. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  4. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.
  5. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.