Hammerfest, Finnmark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hammerfest, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Finnmark County
Hammerfest


Guide to Hammerfest, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Hammerfest prestegjeld (clerical district).  Hammerfest became a city around 1870.  Contains parish registers from the parishes Hammerfest and Kvalsund. United with Måsøy from 1813 to 1856. The years in book 3 are out of sequence.  Records available for the years 1743-1918.

See also Måsøy

Digitized images of parish registers avaiable at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Hammerfest: 1743-1939
Hammerfest/Hammerfest bysockn: 1862-1939
Hammerfest/Hammerfest landsockn: 1863-1939
Hammerfest/Hammerfest sokn: 1743-1869
Hammerfest/Kvalsund: 1743-1939
Hammerfest/Måsøy: 1806-1877

Census Records

  • Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Hammerfest include Hammerfest and Kvalsund and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

 

 

 

  • The 1875 census for Sørøysund in Hammerfest rural district is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Genealogy

Boomer, Helen Lillian Foss, 1917-: Satrum family history. Ole Lauritz Larsen Satrum (1867-1944) immigrated from Norway to Chicago, Illinois, married Oline (Oleanna) Sønvisen in 1893, and settled in Calumet, Michigan, moving to Amery, Wisconsin in 1909, and immigrated to Moose Jaw, Saskatschewan about 1911. Descendants lived in Saskatschewan, British Columbia and elsewhere.  Some descendants remained in the United States, living in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan, Illinois, Florida, and elsewhere. Includes ancestors in the parishes of Alta and Hammerfest and elsewhere in Finnmark county, Norway.

FHL 929.271 Sa83b

To view a digital version click here

Probate Records

1686-1844: Records are found in Finnmark judicial district.

1841-1873: Records are found in Hammerfest judicial district.

Historical Society

Hammerfest Historielag