Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hamilton County, Florida)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Florida
Hamilton County

Guide to Hamilton County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Hamilton County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Hamilton County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 26, 1827
County Seat Jasper
Courthouse
FloridaHamiltonCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Hamilton County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Information

Hamilton County, Florida Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1824 1830 1836 1830

County Courthouse

Hamilton County Courthouse
207 NE 1st Street
Jasper, FL 32052
Phone: 904.792.1288

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1881
and land records from 1837. [2]

History

Parent County

1827--Hamilton County was created 26 December 1827 from Jefferson County.
County seat: Jasper [3]

Description

The county was named for Alexander Hamilton, first United States Secretary of the Treasury. The County Seat is Jasper and the county was created 1827.[4] The County is located in the North central area of the state.[5]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1836 -- Courthouse may have been destroyed by a tornado prior to 1836.
1929 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.



For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Columbia • Echols County, Georgia
Lowndes County, Georgia • Madison • Suwannee

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Hamilton, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Hamilton County cemeteries.

Census

For tips on accessing Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.

  • 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
  • 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
  • 1885 1885 FamilySearch Florida State Population Census
  • Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
  • State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
  • Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flhamilton.png

Military

Civil War
World War II
Korean War
Vietnam War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

  • 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
  • 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Hamilton County Hist. Museum Soc., Inc.
PO Box 929
Jasper 32052
Website



Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hamilton County, Florida Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Hamilton County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/hamilton/ accessed 04/24/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Hamilton County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamilton_County,_Florida 04/24/2017.