Halwill, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Halwill, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Holsworthy|
|Parish registers: 1695|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HALWELL, a parish, in the union of Holsworthy, hundred of Black Torrington, Holsworthy and N. divisions of Devon, 6 miles (N. E. by N.) from Launceston; containing 319 inhabitants. It is situated on the road from Oakhampton to Holsworthy, and comprises 2881 acres, of which 1605 are waste land or common; the soil is clayey, and the cultivated lands are chiefly arable. Good freestone is obtained. The living is a rectory, valued in the king's books at £12. 3. 9., and in the patronage of the Crown; net income, £210. The glebe comprises about 75 acres. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described Halwill like this: HALWILL, a parish in Holsworthy district, Devon; 6 miles SE by E of Holsworthy, and 10 NNE of Lifton r. station. Post town, Holsworthy, North Devon. Acres, 3, 426. Real property, £1, 153. Pop., 257. Houses, 47. The property is divided among a few. The surface is very hilly. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Exeter. Value, £210.* Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church is old and plain, with a tower; and recently was dilapidated. There is a Baptist chapel.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Halwill, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
- FS PRs = FamilySearch Parish Registers
- FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts
|Halwill, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Halwill on GENUKI