To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Halwell, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Halwell, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Halwell, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coleridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Totnes
Registration District Totnes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Totnes
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HALWILL (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Totnes, hundred of Coleridge, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 5¼ miles (S. by W.) from Totnes. The parish comprises 3000 acres, whereof 815 are common or waste land.[1]

HALWELL, or Holwell, a small village 6 miles S. by W of Totnes and 7 miles W. by N. of Dartmouth, has in its parish 445 souls and 3666A. 2R. 28p. of land including Washburn Hamlet (38 souls,) and a number of scattered farmhouses. The soil is various, andon the higher grounds are vestiges of two entrenchments. The manor was anciently held by the Halghwiks, and afterwards by the Vernies and the Hales, but was dismembered many years ago.The parish is now mostly freehold, and belongs to J. Cornish,.Esq., S. Savory, Esq., Mrs. Bastard, Hele's Charity, N. Moysey, Esq., and several smaller owners. The Church {St. Leonard,} is an ancient structure, in the perpendicular style, with a fine lofty tower and six bells.[2]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described Halwill like this: HALWELL, a village and a parish in Totnes district, Devon. The village stands 5½ miles SSW of Totnes town and r. station; and has a post office, designated Halwell, Devon. The parish includes also the hamlet of Washbourne. Acres, 3, 666. Real property, with Morley, £, 732. Rated property of H. alone, £, 578. Pop., 357. Houses, 73. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Exeter. Value, £168. Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of Exeter. The church is ancient, but very good; and consists of nave, chancel, and south aisle, with square tower. There are an Independent chapel, and charities £6. [3]

A parish in Coleridge Hundred, and the Archdeaconry of Totnes and Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of the South Hams area.[4]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Halwell, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Halwell, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs
1754-1993
1754-1993
1754-1993
FS BTs
1597-1812
1597-1812
1597-1812
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Baptist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Halwell on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 383-387. Date accessed and adapted: 4 June 2018.
  2. William White, History, Gazetteer & Directory of Devonshire (Sheffield, England: Robert Leader, Independent Office, 1850), accessed on GENUKI on 4 June 2018.
  3. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 4 June 2018.
  4. GENUKI: Halwell, Devon, accessed 4 June 2018.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.