Halstead Holy Trinity, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Halstead Holy Trinity, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
HALSTEAD, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Essex. The town is adjacent to the river Colne, and to the Colne Valley railway, it is 14 miles NW by W of Colchester. The parish church is ancient; it was founded in 1340. Holy Trinity church is, at the W end of the town, and was built in 1844. The town has a head post office, and a railway station. The parish contains also the hamlet of Greenstead Green. Holy Trinity was constituted a separate chapelry in 1844. Greenstead Green also is a separate chapelry. The head living, is St. Andrews, it is a vicarage, and Holy Trinity is a p. curacy, in the diocese of Rochester. The places of worship, in 1851, were the Church of England, Independents, Baptists, and Quakers. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Halstead Holy Trinity, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Halstead Holy Trinity, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Strict Baptist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
Halstead on GENUKI
Halstead Holy Trinity on GENUKI