Hals Parish, Ålborg, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Ålborg
Hals

History

Hals Municipality ceased to exist on January 1, 2007, due to a Municipality Reform and it was then located in North Jutland County.
Though Hals was the biggest town, the site of its municipal council was the town of Gandrup since the location was more central. Other towns in Hals Municipality were Vester Hassing, Ulsted and Hou and some minor villages Stae, Øster Hassing, Holtet, Gåser and Ålebæk.
Hals municipality ceased to exist due to The Municipality Reform of 2007 when it was merged with Nibe, Sejlflod, and Aalborg municipalities to form the new Aalborg municipality.
[1]

Hals parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Hals Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Aalborghus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Ålborg
Herred (district) Kær
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 34
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 5
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 5/434-435
Gods (estate) Kær herreds provsti; Kær Herredsret; Hvetbo Herredsret


Place Names

Aidtsminde, Anesminde, Annaly,

Bakkegaard, Bangsbohave, Baskær, Birkebæk, Birkely, Bisnap, Bisnap Nord, Bisnap Strand, Bisnapgaard, Bjørnlund, Bløden, Bovets Strøm, Bovetsgaard, Brendelsig Bæk, Bryggerhuse, Bækgaard, Bødkergaard, Bøgen, Bønnelykke,

Dalsgaard, Dankær, Dethsgaard,

Egensminde, Ellegaard, Elmelund, Enggaard, Englund,

Fjordvang, Fladkjærsminde, Fladkær, Fredensminde, Fædrelandet,

Galtrimmen, Gammelmark, Gedebrohus, Godthaab, Granly, Gregersminde, Grønlandslykke,

Hals, Hals Ladegaard, Hals Mose, Hals Nørreskov, Hals Skanse, Hals Sønderskov, Hals Østermark, Hankær, Hankærgaard, Hedegaard, Hedelund, Hedensminde, Hegnsgaarden, Helberkjær Bæk, Helbrechtskær, Helledeskrog, Himmerig, Hjelm, Hov, Hov Enge, Hov Hede, Hov Nord, Hov Skov, Hov Syd, Hviderende, Haadybet, Hørkærholt,

Irumgaard,

Jensminde, Jyngehuse,

Kallehave, Kanalhus, Knudsgaard, Koldkær, Koldkær Bæk, Koldkærgaard, Koldkærhus, Kongelunden, Korsholm, Kristiansminde, Krogenbæk, Krogstrøm, Kæpbakke, Kærlund, Kærsminde,

Lagunen, Landbolyst, Landsighus, Langerevle, Langesminde, Larsensminde, Lasminde, Lille Bovet, Lille Bovetsgaard, Lille Lønholt, Lille Strandgaard, Lillelund, Lillestrøm, Lundensgaard, Lundgaard, Lykkegaard, Lykkensprøve, Lyngøen, Lønholt, Lønholtsig,

Marielund, Mejlskov, Melgaard, Melholt Rimmer, Mikkelmark, Mosegaard, Mosegaarden, Maaholt, Maaholt Bæk, Maaholtsminde, Mølholt, Møllegaarden, Møllestenen,

Nordkær, Nordmandshage, Nygaard, Nymark, Nørgaard, Nørre Bovet, Nørreheden, Nørreskov, Nørreskovgaard, Nørrestrand, Nørskovgaard,

Overgaard,

Pedersminde, Pilegaard, Præstens Hede,

Risbrogaard, Rothuse, Rævebakke, Rødhøj, Rønholthus,

Sandvad, Sandvadgaard, Sigensgaard, Skindsækken, Skiveren, Skovbakke, Skovgaardsminde, Skovhus, Skovlund, Skovly, Skovsgaard, Skovshoved Hede, Skovvang, Snaven, Solbjerggaard, Sommerlyst, Sorgenfri, Springborg, Stensbæk, Stokbro, Stokbrogaard, Stokbrohus, Strandgaard, Svanholm, Svitringen,

Torndal, Torndal Bæk, Torndal Mark, Torndal Strand, Torndrup, Torndrup Strand,

Ulvehave,

Vandet, Vejen, Vestergaard, Vesterhede, Vesterhus, Vibelunden, Vinklen, Volskov Bæk,

Østerbygaard, Østergaard, Øster Kirkesig, Øster Lundensgaard, Østeraagaard,

Aalebæk, Aalebækgaard, Aatoften

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Aalborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Aalborg" and then select your parish.


References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 3d ed. Vol. 4, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.