Hall County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hall County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Hall County

Guide to Hall County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Hall County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Hall County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 15, 1818
County Seat Gainesville
Courthouse
Address Hall County Courthouse
116 Spring Street East
Gainesville, Ga 30501-3765
Phone: 770-531-7025
Hall County Website


County Information

Hall County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Hall County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1819

1820
1819
1819


County Courthouse

Hall County Courthouse
116 Spring Street East
Gainesville, Ga 30501-3765
Phone: 770-531-7025

Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1900 and land records from 1819; Probate Court has marriage and probate records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
Hall County Courthouse
225 Green Street
P.O. Box 1336 (30503-1336)
Gainesville, GA 30501
Telephone: (770) 531-7025
Fax: (770) 531-7070

Probate Court of Hall County
225 Green Street, Suite 1000
Gainesville, GA 30501
Telephone: 770-531-6921
Fax: 770-531-4946

History

Parent County

1818--Hall County was created 15 December 1818 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
County seat: Gainesville[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
Tornado.jpg
1851, 1882, and 1932. Disasters three times threatened but did not destroy county records. The town and courthouse at Gainsville burned 20 December 1851, but residents carried the records to safety. On 2-3 January 1882 the new courthouse burned, but country records were saved. Finally, two tornadoes devastated the town killing 200 and injuring 1,000 on 6 April 1936. The courthouse roof was ripping off and second floor torn away, but once again the county records survived.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Banks County  • Barrow County  • Dawson County  • Forsyth County  • Gwinnett County  • Habersham County  • Jackson County  • Lumpkin County  • White County

Hall CountyForsyth CountyFulton CountyCheroekee CountyPickens CountyDawson CountyGilmer CountyFannin CountyDeKalb CountyLumpkin CountyUnion CountyWhite CountyRabun CountyHabersham CountyStephens CountyBanks CountyJackson CountyClarke CountyOconee CountyWalton CountyBarrow CountyGwinnett CountyGAHall.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

  • 1866-1895 - Hall County Colored Marriage Index 1866-1895. Batch M713005 at FamilySearch - free.

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Hall, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Hall County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hall County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Chicopee, Georgia. New York: Doyle, Kitchen & McCormick, Inc., 1927. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gahalls.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Hall County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hall County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 24th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and I
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 43rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F and K
- 55th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D


  • Dorsey, James Edward. 1991. The History of Hall County, Georgia. Gainesville, Ga: Magnolia Press. (Vol 1 page 55; Vol. 2 page 33-34) 975.8272 H2d
  • McRay, Sybil Wood. 1990. This 'n That: History of Hall County, Georgia; history, genealogy, personalities, Bible records. Gainesville, Georgia: Chestatee Regional Library. (page 106) 975.8272 H28m
  • Jones, Patricia K. 2003. Confederate Veterans of Hall County, Georgia. Oakwood, Ga. (P.O. Box 953, Oakwood 30566): P.K. Jones. (entire book page 1-220)  975.8272 M2j

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hall County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1837-1867 - Wills 1837-1867 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1819-1838 - Index to Miscellaneous Estates, Wills, Inventories, Appraisements, Annual Returns, Vouchers, Book A, 1819-1838 Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1837-1867 - Index to Wills, Book A, 1837-1867 Georgia Pioneers $
  • 1868-1890 - Index to Wills, Book R, 1868-1890 Georgia Pioneers $

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
  • 1819 - 1870 - Hall County Marriage Book A Index 1819-1870. Batch M713001 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1869 - 1881 - Hall County Marriage Book B Index 1869-1881. Batch M713002 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1874 - 1891 - Hall County Marriage Book C Index 1874-1891. Batch M713003 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1891 - 1895 - Hall County Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M713004 at FamilySearch - free.
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Hall County Historical Society
380 Green Street, NE
Gainesville, GA 30501
Phone: 770 503-1319
Fax: 770 536-7072

Northeast Georgia Historical & Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 907085
Gainesville 30501

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hall County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 36. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.