Halifax St Ann in the Grove, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Halifax St Ann in the Grove, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Halifax St Ann in the Grove, Yorkshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Halifax
Registration District Halifax
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

OWRAM (South), a village, a township, and a sub-district, in Halifax parish (also known as Halifax St. Ann in the Grove) and district, W. R. Yorkshire. The village stands on an eminence overlooking the vale of Calder, the Calder and Hebble navigation, and the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 1½ mile S of Hipper-holme r. station, and 2 S E of Halifax; and has a post-office under Halifax. The township contains also the hamlets of Cromwell-Bottom, Brook-Foot, Barker-Royd, Bank-Top, Binns-Bottom, Salterhebble, and Siddal, and part of the village of Kings-Cross; and is partly within Halifax borough. Acres, 2, 280. Real property, £17, 728; of which £1, 280 are in mines, and £1,090 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 7, 380; in 1861, 7, 245. Houses, 1, 542. Pop. of the part within Halifax borough, in 1861, 2, 690. Houses, 569. The manor of Cromwell-Bottom belongs to H. and H. Freeman, Esqs. Ashday Hall, Ash Grove, and St. Anne's are chief residences. Beacon hill is an eminence overlooking the town of Halifax; and is surmounted by a beacon, which was used to commemorate the peace rejoicings in May 1856. Stone of fine quality is quarried, and coal is worked. There are card, wire, and woollen manufactories, and copperas works. The church of St. Anne was rebuilt in 1818; is a stone structure, in plain pointed style; and consists of nave and chancel, with a tower. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, and a national school. The sub-district is conterminate with the township. (John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Halifax St Ann in the Grove Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Yorkshire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Yorkshire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-Yorkshire ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry Church of England (Early)-West Riding ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry Church of England (Late)-West Riding ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]