Halifax Old St Paul, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Halifax Old St Paul, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Halifax Old St Paul, was built as an ecclesiastical parish within Halifax Township in the year 1772. It subdivided the ancient parish of HALIFAX St. John the Baptist), and is partly in the union of Todmorden, but chiefly in that of Halifax, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York; comprising the market-town and borough of Halifax, the parochial chapelries of Elland and Heptonstall, and the townships of Barkisland, Erringden, Fixby, Hipperholme with Brighouse, Langfield, Midgley, Norland, Ovenden, North and SouthOwram, Rastrick, Rishworth, Shelf, Skircoat, Sowerby, Soyland, Stainland with Old Lindley, Stansfield, Wadsworth, and Warley; the whole containing 130,743 inhabitants, of whom 19,881 are in the town, 42 miles(S. W.) from York, and 197 (N. N. W.) from London. Old St Paul's was destroyed by 1850, and a chapel called New St Paul's built in place of it. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Halifax Old St Paul may exist at some of the following websites:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
| HALIFAX OLD ST PAUL (OLD CROSSTONE ) CHAPELRY (1772) Online Records Note: It has been determined that numerous FamilySearch Crosstone christening entries are attributed incorrectly to Heptonstall Chapelry (which also see), and to which Crosstone was attached at some point in its history. Entries start at least by 1787.Search all three churches as well as Standfield Chapelry|
|HALIFAX ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1538) Online Records|
|HEPTONSTALL PARISH (1593) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels immediately surrounding Halifax Old St Paul and comprising the whole ancient parish of Halifax St John the Baptist to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Halifax St John the Baptist page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-379. Date accessed: 04 June 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.