Halifax County, Nova Scotia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Halifax County, Nova Scotia)
Jump to: navigation, search
Nova Scotia Research Topics
Nova Scotia Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Nova Scotia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Nova Scotia
Halifax County

Guide to Halifax county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Map of Nova Scotia Halifax.png

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Father Le Loutre's War began when Edward Cornwallis arrived to establish Halifax in 1749. Cornwallis brought along 1,176 settlers and their families breaking a treaty with the Mi'kmag tribe. British fortifications were erected in Halifax (Citadel Hill) (1749), Bedford (Fort Sackville) (1749), Dartmouth (1750), and Lawrencetown (1754), all areas of modern-day Halifax. St. Margaret's Bay was first settled by French immigrants.

December 1917, during World War I, a French cargo ship carrying munitions, collided with the Belgian Relief vessel SS Imo. The resulting explosion, the Halifax Explosion, devastated the Richmond District of Halifax, killing approximately 2,000 people and injuring nearly 9,000 others.

Maps and Gazetteers

1700-1900 - Nova Scotia.ca Historical Maps of Nova Scotia
1895 - Collections Canada Electoral Atlas of the Dominion of Canada (1895)

Populated Places Table

1 2 3 4 5

POPULATED PLACE

FORMER NAME, if applicable TYPE

FHL  CATALOG

WIKIPEDIA

Africville        
  Link
Armdale             Link
Bear Cove         Link    Link
Bedford         Link   Link
Beechville        Link    Link
Cole Harbour        Link    Link
Coote Cove           Link
Crystal Crescent         Link     Link
Dartmouth         Link    Link
Dartmouth Township         Link   Link
Dean           Link    Link
Dutch Village        Link     Link
East Chezzetcook           Link   Link
East Dover          Link    Link
East Quoddy        Link    Link 
Fairview           Link
Fall River        Link     Link
Fergusons Cove        Link     Link
French Village        Link   Link
Grand Desert         Link     Link
Halifax         Link    Link
Hammonds Plains          Link   Link
Herring Cove       Link     Link
Indian Harbour         Link    Link
Ketch Harbour        Link   Link
Lawrencetown Township        Link   Link
Middle Musquodoboit        Link    Link
Moser River        Link   Link
Musquodoboit            Link
Peggys Cove          Link    Link
Pleasant Harbour        Link   Link
Preston Township         Link    Link
Prospect         Link    Link
Shad Bay         Link   Link
Sheet Harbour        Link    Link
Ship Harbour         Link    Link
St. Margarets Bay        Link   Link
Tangier         Link    Link
Terence Bay         Link     Link
Upper Musquodoboit         Link   Link
West Chezzetcook           Link    Link  
West Newdy Quoddy              Link
West Quoddy          Link   Link
Windsor Junction           Link     Link

Neighboring Counties

Pictou County * Guysborough County * Lunenburg County * Hants County * Colchester County

Civil Registrations

According to Nova Scotia Archives Records Management:
"Civil registration of vital statistics began in Nova Scotia in 1763 with the introduction of procedures for obtaining a marriage licence; the procedure was optional and the surviving records are incomplete. Formalized registration of births, deaths and marriages began in 1864 and continued to 1877, at which time record-keeping lapsed for births and deaths, but continued for marriages. Compliance was not universal during this period and there are gaps in the surviving records. Since 1 October 1908, birth, death and marriage registrations have been collected and maintained continuously."

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records


Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area, and the census returns for Annapolis County in 1851 did not survive.

  • 1861 - For each county, the agricultural returns follow immediately after the personal returns for the whole county.
  • 1871 - The personal returns for each enumeration sub-district appear in schedule one. The agricultural returns are schedules three to five and are keyed to schedule one by page and line number rather than by name.

Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images

Year Name of Collection Where Available

1671

Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976;

FamilySearch Books Online Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118
At various libraries (WorldCat)

1708 East Coast of Arcadia 1708 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1714 Acadian families in 1714 At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1752 1752 census of Isle Royale (Cape Breton, Nova Scotia) At various libraries (WorldCat)
FamilySearch
1770 Nova Scotia 1770 census Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
1800-1842 Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 Ancestry ($)
1811-1818 Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 Nova Scotia Archives
1827 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 Nova Scotia Archives
Ancestry ($)
FamilySearch
WorldCat
1838 Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 Nova Scotia Archives
1851 Canada Census, 1851 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1861 Census of Canada, 1861 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871 Census of Canada, 1871 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1871-1901 Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada FamilySearch
WorldCat
1881 Census of Canada, 1881 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1891 Census of Canada, 1891 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1901 Census of Canada, 1901 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1911 Census of Canada, 1911 Archives of Canada
FamilySearch
Ancestry ($)
1921 Census of Canada, 1921 Ancestry ($)



Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Halifax County online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online


Tombstone Transcriptions in
Print


List of Cemeteries in the County

Church Records

See also, Nova Scotia Church Records

City, Provincial, and Business Directories

Court Records

Wills and Probate

  • 1879-1970 - Wills, images.

Land Records

Online Records

Additional Reference

  • Gilroy, Marion. Loyalists and Land Settlement in Nova Scotia. Halifax: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1937.
  • Smith, Clifford Neal. Whereabouts of Some American Refugees, 1784–1800: the Nova Scotian Land Grants. 7 vols. McNeal, Arizona: Vestland Publications, 1992.
  • Land Registration Office - Annapolis County
    396 Main Street
    Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia
    (902) 584-7185

Military Records

Online Sources

  • Veteran Affairs Canada has a Virtual War Memorial with listings of graves and memorials, some with photographs and personal memorabilia. It also has excerpts from wartime letters and diaries.
  • 1910-1967 - The Royal Canadian Navy Virtual archive of non-governmental materials (postcards, letters, photographs, etc.)

Newspapers and Obituaries

  • List of Nova Scotia newspapers available on microfilm at Library and Archives Canada:
    Library and Archives Canada
  • Nova Scotia vital statistics from newspapers FamilySearch
  • 1752-1988 - Hicks, Brenda, Lynn Murphy, and Anjali Vohra. Nova Scotia Newspapers: A Directory and Union List, 1752-1988. Halifax, Nova Scotia: School of Library and Information Studies, Dalhousie University, 1990.
  • 1757-1957 - Tratt, Gertrude E. N. A Survey and Listing of Nova Scotia Newspapers, 1752-1957, with Particular Reference to the Period Before 1867. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Dalhousie University, 1979.

Taxation Records

Repositories

Nova Scotia Archives & Records Management, formerly the Public Archives of Nova Scotia (PANS):
6016 University Avenue
Halifax, Nova Scotia
(902) 424-6060
www.gov.ns.ca/nsarm/
The library holdings are only available for use on-site, but there are numerous databases and materials available through the Virtual Archives, including the searchable database of Historical Vital Statistics. If you're planning a visit to the library, you can search a portion of the catalogue online in advance (as of July 2010, 20,000 entries); the remaining 50,000 titles are listed in the Archives Reading Room Card Catalogue, available onsite. Search for 'Annapolis' in Acadia University's Planter Database for a more convenient way to view NSARM's record holdings.

Websites


References

  • Genealogy Source: Where to Find Genealogical Information in Nova Scotia. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Council of Nova Scotia Archives, 2002.
  • Elliot, Noel Montgomery, ed. The Atlantic Canadians, 1600–1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates. 3 vols. Toronto: Genealogical Research Library, 1994.
  • Marble, Allan E. A Catalogue of Published Genealogies of Nova Scotia Families. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Genealogical Association of the Royal Nova Scotia Historical Society, 1984.
  • Morris, Julie. Tracing Your Ancestors in Nova Scotia. Halifax: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1987.
  • Morse, William I. Gravestones of Acadie: And Other Essays on Local History, Genealogy and Parish Records of Annapolis County, Nova Scotia. London: A. Smith & Co., 1929.
  • Peterson, Jean, Lynn Murphy, and Heather MacDonald. The Loyalist Guide: Nova Scotian Loyalists and Their Documents. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1983.
  • Punch, Terrence M. Erin's Sons: Irish Arrivals in Atlantic Canada to 1863. 4 vols. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2008-2010.
  • Punch, Terrence M. Genealogical Research in Nova Scotia. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Petheric Press, 1978.
  • Punch, Terrence M. Genealogist's Handbook for Atlantic Canada Research. Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 1989.
  • Punch, Terrence M. In Which County?: Nova Scotia Surnames from Birth Registers, 1864 to 1877. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Genealogical Association of the Royal Nova Scotia Historical Society, 1985.
  • Smith, Leonard H, and Norma H. Smith. Nova Scotia Immigrants to 1867. 2 vols. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1992. Also digitized and searchable on Ancestry.com
  • County Guide Series, No. 5. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1990.