To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hagbourne, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hagbourne, Berkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hagbourne, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hagbourne, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Moreton
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford
Registration District Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HAGBORNE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Wallingford, hundred of Moreton, county of Berks. [1]

Hagbourne is an Ancient Parish in the county of Berkshire. Other places in the parish include: West Hagbourne and East Hagbourne. Genuki.org.uk provides additional descriptions of this parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Hagbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Hagbourne Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

1705-1705
1612-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


FREG 1541-1816, 1837-1846
1541-1837
1564-1833
IGI

1612-1833


FS Catalog PRs
1661-1916
1661-1916
1661-1916
FS Catalog BTs
1612-1836
1612-1836
1612-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish Registers for Hagbourne, 1661-1916 available through FamilySearch on microfilm.

Bishop Transcripts for Hagbourne, 1612-1835 available through FamilySearch on microfilm.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Wesleyan Methodist

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poorhouses[edit | edit source]

Wallingford Union

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

Hagbourne in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-372. Date accessed: 03 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch