Hadleigh, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Hadleigh, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
StJamesTheLess Hadleigh Essex
|Poor Law Union||Rochford|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Hadleigh, is a village and a parish in Rochford district, Essex. The village stands 1 1/2 miles N of Hadleigh Ray, 2 miles NE by E of Benfleet railway station, and 2 1/2 miles S of Rayleigh.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hadleigh, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Hadleigh, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online Images available Seax_-_Essex_Archives_Online_From_the_Essex_Record_Office
See also St Barnabas and Hadleigh Wesleyan Methodist church
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Union
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
Hadleigh on GENUKI