Haderslev Militärgemeinde Parish, Haderslev, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Haderslev County
Haderslev Militargemeinde

Guide to Haderslev Militärgemeinde, Haderslev, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History

Haderslev is a Danish town of Region of Southern Denmark and it is the main town. It is the administrative seat of Haderslev Municipality and situated in the eastern part of Southern Jutland.
Haderslev is situated in a valley, leading from Vojens to Haderslev Fjord and the Baltic Sea and was presumably founded by Vikings.
Prior to the Second Schleswig War of 1864, Haderslev was situated in the Duchy of Schleswig, a Danish fief, so its history is properly included in the contentious history of Schleswig-Holsteinthen then from 1864 it was part of Prussia, and as such part of the North German Confederation, and from 1871 it was part of the German Empire.
In the 1920 Schleswig Plebiscite that returned Northern Schleswig to Denmark, 38.6% of Haderslev's inhabitants voted for remaining part of Germany and 61.4% voted for the cession to Denmark. It was formerly the capital of the German Kreis Hadersleben and the Danish Haderslev County.
[1]

Haderslev Militärgemeinde Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Add here
Pastorat (chapelry) Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Haderslev
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Haderslev Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Haderslev" and then select your parish.

References