To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hørmested Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hørmested, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History[edit | edit source]

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Hørmested Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Lendum-Hørmested Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Sejlstrup
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Horns
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 4
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 18
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 5/476
Gods (estate) Horns herreds provsti; Nørre Elkjær gods; Knivholt gods; Høgholt gods; Horns Herredsret; Vennebjerg Herredsret; Frederikshavn Byret


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Aldershaab, Anneksgaard, Annekshuset

Bakken, Birkebakke, Birkelund, Birkely, Birket, Bjørnehøj, Bjørnemose, Bollen, Bondgaard, Bredsig, Brohus, Brødrehjemmet, Bundgaard, Baalhøj, Bækholm

Damsig

Ellelund, Enghave, Engholm, Enghuse, Englund, Engvad, Enigheden, Estrup

Frederiksdal, Fællesskov

Gammelmølle, Godthaab, Granly, Graven, Gravensten, Grimshave

Hammerholt, Hanghøj, Hedebakken, Hedegaard, Hedelund, Hedevang, Hejselbak, Hjørnet, Holtehus, Holtet, Hoven, Haabet, Høgholt, Høgholt Møllebæk, Høgholt Skole, Høglund, Højen, Højhus, Hørmested, Hørmestedgaard, Hørmestedkro

Interhortis

Kirkemose, Klarupdal, Klarupmose, Kongehøj, Korsenstved, Korsholt, Kringelhede, Kringelholt, Krogbak, Kullen

Langmosehus, Lilholt, Lille Damsig, Lille Højen, Lille Nejst, Lille Rammelhøj, Lille Tislum, Lille Topholt, Lille Vestermark, Lille Volstrup, Lillelund, Lillemose, Lykkensholm, Lykkensminde, Lykkensprøve, Lynghuse, Lysmose, Lysmosehus

Maden, Majlund, Marielyst, Melheden, Mellem Skrejborg, Møjen, Møllebæk, Møllehuset, Maalund

Neder Skrejborg, Nejst, Nejst Plantage, Nejstskov, Nygaard, Nygaards Mølle, Nymark, Nøjsomhed, Nørkærhus, Nørregaard, Nørrehave

Over Skrejborg

Rammelhøj, Rølhus

Sandager, Sandagerhede, Sekshusene, Skolehøjen, Skoven, Skovly, Skovsø, Skrejborg, Skørbæk, Slejhus, Solbakken, Starshøj, Stensbæk, Stensbækgaard, Store Rammelhøj, Store Vestermark, Studsholt, Sødal, Søndergaard, Sønderhaven, Søndermark, Sønder Maalund, Sørensminde

Terneholm, Tiruplund, Tislum, Tislum Bakker, Tislum Møllebæk, Tislum Plantage, Tislumhede, Topholt

Ulkær Bakke

Vanggaard, Vestbo, Vester Stensbæk, Vesterhave, Volstrup

Øster Stensbæk, Øster Tveden

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Lendum, Mosbjerg, Sindal, Skærum, Tolne, Ugilt

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.