Højer Parish, Tønder, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Tønder County
Højer


History

Højer is a town and a former municipality in south Denmark, in Region of Southern Denmark on the west coast of the Jutland peninsula. The municipality was created in 1970 due to a Municipality Reform that combined a number of existing parishes, Daler, Emmerlev, Hjerpsted and Højer
On 1 January 2007 Højer municipality ceased to exist due to The Municipality Reform of 2007 when it was merged with Bredebro, Løgumkloster, Nørre-Rangstrup, Skærbæk, and Tønder municipalities to form the new Tønder Municipality.
[1]

Højer Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Ribe
Pastorat (chapelry) Højer
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Riberhus
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Tønder
Amt 1200 - 1864 Hertugdømmet Slesvig
Amt 1867 - 1920 Kreis Tondern (Germany)
Amt 1920 - 1970 Tønder
Herred (district) Højer
Kommune (municipality) Tønder
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names:

Gaden, Gammel Frederikskog,

Hohenwarte, Højer, Højer Dige, Højer Kanal, Højer Kog, Højer Sluse,

Margrethe Kog,

Ny Frederikskog, Nørremølle, Nørreværre,

Poppenbøl,

Rudbøl, Rudbøl Kog, Rudbøl Sø,

Siltoft, Søgaard,

Ved Gaden

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Tønder Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Tønder" and then select your parish.


References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/, Nov 2012
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 5te ed. Vol.25, Tønder Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1966