To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Højby Parish, Holbæk, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Højby, Holbæk, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Højby Church

History[edit | edit source]

The priest's farmhouse in Højby burned on 10 April 1718, but the parish records still survive as early as 1700. By royal rescript dated 12 February 1779 parts of Nørre Asmindrup's outskirts were transferred to Højby.

Højby Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), Roskilde (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Højby (Early-Present)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Dragsholm
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Holbæk
Herred (district) Ods
Kommune (municipality) Højby
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 8
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 39
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/10
Gods (estate) Tølløsegård gods; Baroniet Zeuthen; Dragsholm birk


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Annebjerg, Annebjerg Mark, Annebjergnæs,

Belsmose, Borgevang, Borrevang, Brunhøj Strand,

Damgaards Huse, Dragebjerg, Drøsselholm, Dyrehøj,

Ebbeløkke, Ellehøj, Ellinge Huse, Ellinge Indhegning, Ellinge Kohave, Ellinge Kongepart, Ellinge Lyng, Ellinge Mark, Ellingegaard, Engmose,

Fuglebæks Å, Fællesmose,

Gudmindrup, Gudmindrup Lyng,

Holmstrup, Hunstrup, Højby, Højby Lyng,

Klint, Klint Bakker, Klint Fladvand, Klintebjerg, Klintehuse, Klintsø, Klintsøgaard, Korevle,

Lille Stårup, Lumsås, Lumsås Old,

Maglebjerg, Manglebjerg, Moseby, Lb., Mosegaard, Mosemark Huset,

Nordstrand, Nygaard, Nyled, Nyrup,

Olden,

Reberne,

Sekshøje, Snekkebjerg, Sonnerup, Sonnerup Skov, Sonnerup, Lb., Stenstrup, Stenstrup Lyng, Stylsvig Huse, Stårup, Syvhøj, Søbjerg,

Tengslemark, Tengslemark Lyng, Tinghulerne, Tjørneholm, Troldstuerne, Trundholm Mose


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Holbæk Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Holbæk" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.2, Holbæk Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1920