Høgsfjord Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Høgsfjord, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Høgsfjord belonged to Strand clerical district 1702-1864. In 1864 Høgsfjord clerical district was created with the parishes Høle and Forsand (Fossan). Strand and Høgsfjord clerical districts were filmed together. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
- 1701 Census - Manntall 1701 Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
1801-telling for Strand Database
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Høgsfjord Database
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information
This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Fossan Database
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `