Gwennap, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Gwennap, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Gwennap Parish Church St Wennapa
|Poor Law Union||Redruth|
|Parish registers: 1658|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GWENNAP (St. Wenap), a parish, in the union of Redruth, E. division of the hundred of Kerrier, W. division of Cornwall, 8 miles E from Truro. There are places of worship for Baptists, Bryanites, and Wesleyans.
Gwennap St Wennepa is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Carharrack, Crofthandy, and Frogpool.
Gwennap Pit where John Wesley preached 18 times between 1762 and 1789, although Gwennap Pit is to the north west at the hamlet of Busveal near St. Day. The pit was caused by mining subsidence in the mid-eighteenth century. After Wesley's death the local people turned the pit into a regular circular shape with turf seats.
The parish church is an old foundation but was rebuilt in the 15th century and then thoroughly restored in the 19th century. The tower is detached. According to Charles Henderson "few Cornish churches are less interesting than Gwennap" [Cornish Church Guide (1925); pp. 105-06]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Gwennap parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Gwennap Online Parish Records|
|COPC||1658-1891||1660-1812, 1823-1911||1658-1812, 1830-1900|
Overview, Include information for parish registers and Bishop's Transcripts, Contact information for the office holding the original records, Links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing film numbers in their collection.
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 79
Incorrect waypoints for St Day have been reported to engineers for future correction St Day references are P47/1/1-3
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
Gwennap in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 360-362. Date accessed: 13 March 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.