Guyana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Guyana Wiki Topics
Flag of Guyana.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Guyana Background
Local Research Resources
South America
Guyana
Guide to Guyana ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Not to be confused with French Guiana (French: Guyane).

Country Information

Guyana is a country in South America bordered by Brazil, Suriname, and Venezuela. It was formerly a colony of The Netherlands and Great Britain. The official language is English.[1]

History

The Dutch were the first Europeans to establish colonies but after the British assumed control in 1796, the Dutch formally ceded the area in 1814 and in 1831 the three separate colonies became a single British colony known as British Guiana.
Guyana achieved independence from the United Kingdom on 26 May 1966 and became a republic on 23 February 1970, remaining a member of the Commonwealth.
In May 2008, President Bharrat Jagdeo was a signatory to the UNASUR Constitutive Treaty of the Union of South American Nations. Guyana has ratified the treaty.
[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Guyana Research

Links to articles on getting started with Guyana research.

Guyana Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Guyana research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Guyana Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guyana.

Guyana regions english.png

Regions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Guyana. Regions:

  1. Barima-Waini
  2. Pomeroon-Supenaam
  3. Essequibo Islands-West Demerara
  4. Demerara-Mahaica
  5. Mahaica-Berbice
  6. East Berbice-Corentyne
  7. Cuyuni-Mazaruni
  8. Potaro-Siparuni
  9. Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo
  10. Upper Demerara-Berbice

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Guyana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia," https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guyana, accessed 28 April 2016.