Gunby St Peter, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Gunby St Peter, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Gunby St Peter, Lincolnshire|
Gunby St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
|Poor Law Union||Spilsby|
|Parish registers: 1724|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Gunby is a hamlet about 1 mile east of Candleby and the civil parish is Candleby with Gunby.
Gunby Hall was built around 1700 for Sir William Massingberd, and was the former seat of the Massingberd family. The last in residence was Field Marshall Sir Archibald Montgomery-Massingberd. Today the hall is owned by the National Trust, and is Grade I listed.
The Ancient Parish church of St Peter is within the Gunby Hall Park and was rebuilt in 1870 to replace the mediaeval predecessor on the same site.
GUNBY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Spilsby, Wold division of the wapentake of Candleshoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 5¼ miles (E.) from Spilsby. 
This parish was in the Burgh sub-district of Spilsby registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Gunby St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Gunby St Peter Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 348-360. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.