Guisborough, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Guisborough, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Guisborough|
|Parish registers: 1661|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Guisborough St Nicholas is an Ancient parish. Other places in the parish include: Barnaby, Bellmangate, Carlinghour, Carlinghow, Commondale, Tocketts, Pinchingthorpe, Pinchinthorpe, Skelderskew Grange, Slapewath, Sleddale, and Hutton Lowcross.
GUISBOROUGH, or Guilsborough (St. Nicholas), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 49 miles (N.) from York, and 244 (N. by W.) from London; comprising the townships of Commondale, Guisborough, Hutton-Locras, Pinchingthorpe and Tocketts; and containing 2015 inhabitants, of whom 1776 are in the town. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Guisborough parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Guisborough Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 348-360. Date accessed: 22 November 2013