Guilford County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Guilford County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Guilford County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
|Founded||December 5, 1770|
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church Records
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Probate
- 4.12 Taxation
- 4.13 Vital Records
- 4.14 Yearbooks
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Guilford County is located in the Central portion of North Carolina and was named for Francis North, First Earl of Guilford and father of the prime minister of Great Britain at the time.
Guilford County Courthouse
201 S Eugene St
PO Box 3427
Greensboro, NC 27402
Courthouse Burned 1872. Many older records are still avialable. See Record Loss section below
Register of Deeds
Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913. The office also has a limited list of slave deeds, available online at Guilford County Register of Deeds
Offices for the Register of Deeds in Guilford County are located in the county seat in of Greensboro, and in High Point.
Register of Deeds
PO Box 3427
Greensboro, NC 27403
2nd floor of the BB&T building
201 West Market Street
Greensboro, NC 27401
Register of Deeds
PO Box 1467
High Point, NC 27761
325 East Russell Avenue, Room 155
High Point, NC 27260
Hours: 8-5 Monday through Friday for both locations. Closed on all major holidays.
Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 3008
Greensboro, NC 27402-3008
Telephone: (336) 412-7400
For Divorce Records, contact the Clerk of the Superior Court.
North Carolina Vital Records
North Carolina Vital Records
1903 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699
North Carolina Vital Records - Cooper Memorial Health Building
225 N. McDowell Street
Raleigh, NC 27603
Hours: 8-3 Monday through Friday.
1770--Guilford County was created 5 December 1770 from Orange and Rowan Counties, but it did not start administration of its territory until 1 April 1771, so no Guilford records exist before that date.
County seat: Greensboro 
The law creating Guilford County was passed in 1770, and the county started administration of its territory on April 1, 1771. Any land records prior to that time will be in the records of other counties. Approximately, the western two-thirds of the county came from Rowan County, and the eastern one-third came from Orange County. Rowan was created in 1753 from Anson County, and Orange was created in 1752 from parts of Johnston, Bladen, and Granville counties.
"Old Guilford County" was three times larger than present-day Guilford County, since Randolph County was created from the southern third of Guilford in 1779, and Rockingham County was created from the northern third of Old Guilford in 1785.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1781 - Fire burned courthouse
1872 - Courthouse fire resulted in some loss of records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in the Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle.
- Archdale (part)
- Gibsonville (part)
- Greensboro (Wikipedia link)
- High Point
- Kernersville (part)
- Oak Ridge
- Pleasant Garden
- Center Grove
- Deep River
- Forest Oaks
- Rock Creek
- AAHGS-Afro-American Historical & Genealogical Society
They have a local chapter for the North Carolina Piedmont/Triad. They have bi-monthly meetings. You can find out more information and a list of upcoming meetings on their website at: ncaahgs.org
- Bennett College yearbooks - 1961 to 2002
- Bennett College scrapbook from 1945
- International Civil Rights Center and Museum
The center has a permanent exhibit and has several other special exhibits, events, and speakers. A list of special events, hours, and admission prices can found on their website at: www.sitinmovement.org
- North Carolina Agriculture & Technical State University
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- Alamance Presbyterian Church Cemetery (online list of 1,852 interments in Find A Grave)
- Buffalo Presbyterian Church Cemetery (online list of 376 interments in Find A Grave)
- Centre Friends Meeting (online list of 541 interments in Find A Grave)
- Cobles Lutheran Cemetery (online list of 603 interments in Find A Grave)
- Find A Grave: Guilford County
- Floral Garden Memorial Park (online list of 1,471 interments in Find A Grave)
- Forest Lawn Cemetery (online list of 1,393 interments in Find A Grave)
- Friedens Lutheran Church Cemetery (online list of 1,827 interments in Find A Grave)
- Green Hill Cemetery (online list of 2,782 interments in Find A Grave)
- Guilford Memorial Park (online list of 1,745 interments in Find A Grave)
- New Garden Friends Meeting Cemetery, Greensboro (Benbow listings only)
- Search Greensboro Cemeteries, a growing index to many cemeteries in Guilford County.
- Union Cemetery is one of the most important burial sites for African Americans in Guilford County. The list is of all marked graves. It has been in use since the 1880s.
For tips on accessing Guilford County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Caraway Creek. Founded before 1773.
- Cross Roads. Constituted 1786.
- Sandy Creek. Founded 1755. Later located in Randolph County.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Old Brick Church, near Whitsett, N.C. Organized late 1700s.
- Friedens Church, near Gibsonville, N.C. Organized before 1791.
- Low's Lutheran Church, near Kimesville, N.C. Organized about 1771.
- Alamance Church, near Greensboro, N.C. Organized about 1764.
- Buffalo Church, Greensboro, N.C. Organized about 1764.
The deed books are online! http://rdlxweb.co.guilford.nc.us/guilfordNameSearch.php Click on Old Index Books to find the indices.
- Arnett, Ethel Stephens, Greensboro, North Carolina: The County Seat of Guilford, Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina Press, 1955, 1983 (excerpt) (Google Books link)
- Arnett, Ethel Stephens, The Saura and Keyauwee in the Land that Became Guilfod, Randolph, and Rockingham, Greensboro, North Carolina: Media, 1975.
- Batchelor, John, The Guilford County Schools: A History, Winston-Salem, North Carolina: John F. Blair, 1991.
- Bowles, David, Spring House (Book 1 in the Westward Sagas), Plum Creek Press, 2006.
- Greensboro Business Directory, 1886 (GenWeb Archives)
- Guilford County Bicentennial Commission, Guilford County, a Brief History, Greensboro, North Carolina: Guilford County Bicentennial Commission, 1971.
- Guilford County, NC GenWeb Local History (includes links to book excerpts)
- Hatch, Charles E., Jr., The Battle of Guilford Courthouse, Washington, D.C.: National Park Service, 1971.
- Haworth, Cecil E., Deep River Friends: A Valiant People, Greensboro, North Carolina: North Carolina Friends Historical Society, 1985.
- Haworth, Sara A., Springfield, 1773-1940: A History of the Establishment and Growth of the Springfield Monthly Meeting of Friends, High Point, North Carolina: Barber-Hall Printing Company, 1940.
- High Point Business Directory, 1886 (GenWeb Archives)
- Hill, Jane Smith, An Annotated Digest of Will Book A, Guilford County, North Carolina, 1771-May Court 1816, Heritage Books, 2007. (Google Books link)
- Hughes, Fred, Guilford County: A Map Supplement, The Custom House, 1988. (excerpt)
- Jordan, Pauls Stahls, Women of Guilford County, North Carolina: A Study of Women's Contributions, 1740-1979, Greensboro, North Carolina: Women of Guilford, 1979. (Google Books link)
- Kars, Marjoleine, Breaking Loose Together: The Regulator Rebellion in Pre-Revolutionary North Carolina.
- Pegg, William Wesley, Sr., Something of the Story of Deep River, Greensboro, North Carolina: Self-published, 1980.
- Robinson, Blackwell P., and Alexander R. Stoesen, ed. by Sydney M. Cone, Jr., The History of Guilford County, North Carolina, U.S.A. to 1980, A.D., 1981.
- Salsi, Lynn, and Burke Salsi, Guilford County: Heart of the Piedmont (The Making of America series), Arcadia Publishing, 2002. (Google Books link)
- Scarlette, Gladys, Summerfield, North Carolina: A Pictorial History, Greensboro, North Carolina: Younts, 1995.
- Sharpe, Stella Gentry, Tobe, Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina Press, 1939.
- Sloan, John Alexander, Reminiscences of the Guilford Grays, Co. B, 27th N.C. Regiment, Washington, D.C.: R.C. Polkinhorn, 1883.
- Stockard, Sallie Walker, The History of Guilford County, North Carolina, 1902 (complete text in Google Books) (complete text in Internet Archive)
- Stoesen, Alexander R., Guilford County: A Brief History, 2000 (Google Books link) (NC Office of Archives & History Publications Shop)
- Teague, Bobbie T., Cane Creek: Mother of Meetings, North Carolina Friends Historical Society, 1995.
- Weatherly, Andrew Earl, The First Hundred Years of Historic Guilford, 1771-1871, Greensboro, North Carolina: Greensboro Print Company, 1972.
- Zopf, Paul E., The People of Guilford: Growth and Changes in the Population of Guilford County, Greensboro, North Carolina: Chamber of Commerce, 1972.
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index to Individuals Present at the Battle of Guilford Courthouse (March 15, 1781) (Greensboro Libraries)
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Moore, Carol. Greensboro's Confederate Soldiers (Images of America series). Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing, 2008. | Google Books page (limited preview)
Regiments. Service men in Guilford County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Guilford County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- -2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company F
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 2nd Company E
- - 4th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company I
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company K
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company C
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company D
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- Guilford County Men & Women Who Served in World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- Pre - 1790 - Pre-1790 Guilford County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- 1771 - 1943 - Will Books A to L (1771-1943) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1894 - 1968 - Guilford County Widows’ Year’s Support, 1894-1968 - available from the NC State Archives
- Images of Wills & Estates 1779-1813; 1813-1838; 1837-59 North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- Guilford County Bastardy Bonds at USGenWeb - free.
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1771 - 1899 - Guilford County Marriage and Death Records, 1771-1899 (Greensboro Libraries, with online search)
- 1868 - 1961 - Guilford County Marriage Index 1868-1961 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Guilford County Marriages at USGenWeb - free (scroll to bottom of the page)
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Bennett College: 1962-2002 (Historically Black College)
- Greensboro College: 1908-2005
- Guilford College: 1911-2005
- High Point University: 1927-2007
- North Carolina Agricultural & Technical College: 1929-2009
- UNC-Greensboro: 1902-1993
- Guilford County students at North Carolina colleges - a list alphabetized by surname from the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Guilford County Genealogical Society
PO Box 4713, Dept. W
Greensboro, NC 27404-4713
- Friends Historical Collection at Guilford College
- Greensboro Library 219 No. Church St.
- Greensboro Libraries: Genealogy
- High Point Library Public Library & its Heritage Research Center
- Penny Postcards from North Carolina: Guilford County
- UNC-Chapel Hill Library's North Carolina Collection, Guilford County materials
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Guilford County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- African Americans in Guilford County
- Family History Catalog: Guilford County, North Carolina
- Guilford County Genealogy (North Carolina Genealogy)
- Guilford County Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Guilford County Historic Preservation Commission
- Guilford County Markers (The Historical Marker Database)
- Guilford County, North Carolina (RootsWeb)
- Guilford County, North Carolina (Wikipedia)
- Guilford County, North Carolina GenWeb (has a lot of information on its website)
- Guilford County, North Carolina GenWeb Archives
- Guilford County Website: History
- History of Guilford County, North Carolina (with several biographies)
- The History of Guilford County, North Carolina (GenGateway)
- History of the Sheriffs of Guilford (Guilford County Sheriff's Office)
- North Carolina - Guilford County (National Register of Historic Places)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Guilford County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:227-228, 230; 2:564. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- "Sandy Creek Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- "Old Brick Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- "Friedens Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- "Low's Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- "Alamance Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- "Buffalo Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn*1763-1868 - [https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/2524877 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868] at [https://www.familysearch.org/search FamilySearch] — index and images/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.